Skip to content

Unbelievable Happiness and Final Sorrow The Hemingway-Pfeiffer Marriage

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 1557289743

ISBN-13: 9781557289742

Edition: 2012

Authors: Ruth A. Hawkins

List price: $34.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
We're sorry. This item is currently unavailable.
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


When Ernest Hemingway wed Pauline Pfeiffer of Piggott, Arkansas, he essentially married her entire family. Pauline became his best editor and critic, and her parents and Uncle provided moral and financial support. Her sister became part of the Hemingway inner circle, while her brother hunted and fished with him. Thirteen years and two children later, all that came to an end. Pauline would be the second of Hemingway's four wives.Though Pauline was with Hemingway through his most productive years as a writer, he typically downplayed the Pfeiffer family's contributions, much as he dismissed the assistance he received from his literary friends. Unfortunately, Pauline died before Ernest, leaving…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $34.95
Copyright year: 2012
Publisher: University of Arkansas Press
Publication date: 6/1/2012
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 333
Size: 6.00" wide x 9.00" long x 1.40" tall
Weight: 1.540
Language: English

Ruth A. Hawkins has been an administrator at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro for more than thirty years and established its Arkansas Heritage Sites program, which includes the Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum in Piggott. She has been recognized at the state, regional, and national level for her work in historic preservation and heritage tourism.

The Pfeiffers
Three's a Crowd (1925-1926)
The One Hundred Days (1926)
Wedding Plans (1927)
The Newlyweds (1927-1928)
Homeward Bound (1928)
Family Matters (1928-1929)
Return to Paris (1929)
A Place to Call Home (1930-1931)
Chaos Abounds (1931-1932)
In Good Times and Bad (1933)
On Safari (1933-1934)
More New Places (1935)
More New Faces (1936)
Trouble Ahead (1937)
The Marriage Unravels (1938)
The End of Something (1939)
Acrimony and Alimony (1940-1941)
War on the Home Front (1942-1945)
New Beginnings (1946-1948)
Last Rites (1949-1951)