Skip to content

Constitution of the Confederate States

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 1557091781

ISBN-13: 9781557091789

Edition: N/A

Authors: Robert Rhett, Robert Smith, Richard Walker, Jackson Morton, James Owens

List price: $12.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

The Confederate States adopted their Permanent Constitution on March 11, 1861. The original document consisted of five vellum sheest pasted together to form a scroll over twelve feet long. The original document, along with many other documents of the Confederacy, was found at a train station in 1865 by a war-time correspondent, Felix DeFontaine. In 1883, he sold the manuscript to Mrs. George Wymberley Jones DeRenne. In 1939, the DeRenne family sold the document to the University of Georgia, where it now resides.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $12.95
Publisher: Applewood Books
Publication date: 7/1/2005
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 36
Size: 4.25" wide x 6.75" long x 0.34" tall
Weight: 0.242
Language: English

Rhett is often referred to as the "Father of Secession." From South Carolina, he was appointed Chairman of the Confederate Consitution Committee (Permanent Version).

One of the two Florida framers of the Confederate Constitution.