Skip to content

Just Mary The Life of Mary Evelyn Grannan

Best in textbook rentals since 2012!

ISBN-10: 155002597X

ISBN-13: 9781550025972

Edition: 2006

Authors: Margaret Anne Hume, Gwendolyn Davies

List price: $35.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Just Mary and Maggie Muggins are names that will arouse memories in those who grew up with CBC radio and television in the 1940s and 1950s. The creator of these and other children's shows, former Fredericton schoolteacher Mary Grannan, became a radio star when she hit the national airwaves in 1939, her popularity peaking when Maggie Muggins moved to television in 1955. Long before The Friendly Giant and Mr. Dressup appeared, her work helped to shape the legacy of gentle children's programming on CBC. Building on her broadcasting success, Grannan published over thirty books, most runaway best-sellers. Attired in stylish dress, extravagant hats, and enormous earrings, she made frequent guest…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $35.00
Copyright year: 2006
Publisher: Dundurn Press
Publication date: 2/11/2006
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 376
Size: 6.00" wide x 9.00" long x 0.60" tall
Weight: 1.606
Language: English

Margaret Hume, a former librarian at Concordia University in Montreal, received her education from the universities of New Brunswick and McGill. Born in Halifax, she grew up in New Brunswick in the 1950s as an adoring young fan of Maggie Muggins. Margaret lives with her husband in Vancouver. ""Just Mary" The Life of Mary Evelyn Grannan" is her first book.

The Departure, 1939
Birth of a Storyteller, 1900-1914
The Schoolmarm, 1914-1934
The New Circus, 1935-1939
Toronto Beginning, 1939-1940
Making the Grade, 1940
First Books, 1941-1943
The Birth of Maggie Muggins, 1944-1945
Advent of Maggie Muggins on the Radio, 1946-1948
Visit to the Old Countries, 1949
Prelude to Television, 1949-1954
Maggie Comes to Television, 1954-1958
Many Books but No Cartoons, 1956-1960
Last Years at CBC, 1960-1962
Journey Homeward, 1962-1975
Epilogue: The Last Public Performance, 1967
Bibliography of Mary Grannan's Books
Mary Grannan's Broadcast Programs