Skip to content

Balance The Economics of Great Powers from Ancient Rome to Modern America

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 1476700257

ISBN-13: 9781476700250

Edition: 2013

Authors: Glenn Hubbard, Tim Kane

List price: $32.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Description:

In this groundbreaking book, two economists explain why financial imbalance causes civil collapse—and why America could be next.From the Roman Empire to the Ming Dynasty to Imperial Spain, the superpowers of the world have grown to become the greatest economic, political, and military forces of their time—only to collapse into rubble and memory. What is at the root of their demise—and how can America stop it from happening again?In the tradition of James Robinson’sWhy Nations Failand Jared Diamond’sCollapse, Glenn Hubbard and Tim Kane present a bold, sweeping account of why powerful nations and civilizations break down under the heavy burden of financial imbalance. A bold and challenging book with cataclysmic predictions,Balancetraces the successes and failures of post-colonial Argentina, the economic mismanagement of modern California, the long collapse of Rome, and the manufacturing bubble of Japan. Most importantly, Hubbard and Kane compare the modern United States to the empires of old and challenge Americans to address the real problems of our country’s economic trajectory. In doing so, they set the stage for discussion and directly address the challenges our nation faces in the coming years.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $32.00
Copyright year: 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Incorporated
Publication date: 5/21/2013
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 368
Size: 6.50" wide x 9.25" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 1.144
Language: English