Skip to content

Chekhov - Plays and Stories

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 1406792055

ISBN-13: 9781406792058

Edition: N/A

Authors: Anton Chekhov

List price: $29.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Chekhov's fame grows steadily with the years, and now for the first time his best work is made available in a single low priced volume. The translation is by S.S. Koteliansky, whose English versions of The Cherry Orchard and The Seagull appear here for the first time. The Wood Demon, the earlier version of Uncle Vanya, is the third of the full length plays in the book. A few shorter playlets are also included, and Tchekhov's mastery of the art of the short story is shown by a selection of thirteen of his best stories, including My Life, and The Lady with the Toy Dog.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $29.99
Publisher: Read Books
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 380
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.50" long x 0.85" tall
Weight: 1.078
Language: English

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov was born in the provincial town of Taganrog, Ukraine, in 1860. In the mid-1880s, Chekhov became a physician, and shortly thereafter he began to write short stories. Chekhov started writing plays a few years later, mainly short comic sketches he called vaudvilles. The first collection of his humorous writings, Motley Stories, appeared in 1886, and his first play, Ivanov, was produced in Moscow the next year. In 1896, the Alexandrinsky Theater in St. Petersburg performed his first full- length drama, The Seagull. Some of Chekhov's most successful plays include The Cherry Orchard, Uncle Vanya, and Three Sisters. Chekhov brought believable but complex personalizations to…