Skip to content

Blood Feud The Hatfields and the McCoys - The Epic Story of Murder and Vengeance

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0762779187

ISBN-13: 9780762779185

Edition: 2012

Authors: Lisa Alther, Martha Kaplan

List price: $24.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


America’s most notorious family feud began in 1865 with the murder of a Union McCoy soldier by a Confederate Hatfield relative. More than a decade later Randall McCoy accused a Hatfield of stealing his hogs. This accusation triggered years of violence and retribution, including aRomeo-and-Julietinterlude that led to the death of a young McCoy woman and her baby. In a drunken brawl, three of her brothers killed a Hatfield, so the Hatfields tied them up and shot them dead. McCoy posses hijacked some of this firing squad across state lines to stand trial, while those still free burned down Randal McCoy’s cabin and shot two of his children in a botched attempt to defeat the posses. Legal…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $24.95
Copyright year: 2012
Publisher: Globe Pequot Press, The
Publication date: 5/22/2012
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 304
Size: 6.25" wide x 9.25" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 1.188
Language: English

Lisa Alther was born in Kingsport, Tennessee, on July 30, 1944. She graduated from Wellesley College with a B.A. in English literature in 1966. She worked briefly at Atheneum publishers in New York before moving to Vermont. There she wrote for Garden Way, Inc., and taught Southern Fiction at St. Michael's College in Winooski. Alther's first novel, Kinflicks, was published in 1976, followed by Original Sins; Other Women; Bedrock; and Five Minutes in Heaven. Her tragicomic novels, which feature feisty lesbian characters, have become international bestsellers and have been translated into several languages. She also wrote a novella, Birdman and the Dancer, based on a series of monotypes by…    

Introduction: Murderland
The Path to Pikeville
Dark and Bloody Ground
Border States
Hog Trial
Montagues and Capulets of the Cumberlands
Pawpaw Murders
Devil Anse and the Hellhounds
New Year's Night Massacre
All Over but the Shouting
"The Hatfields Made Me Do It!"
Other Feuds
The Corsica of America
The Inner Hillbilly
Man Toys
Epilogue: The Hatfield-McCoy Industry
Appendix: "Green Are the Woods"
Selected Bibliography