Skip to content

Music Analysis in the Nineteenth Century Hermeneutic Approaches

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 052167347X

ISBN-13: 9780521673471

Edition: 2005

Authors: Ian Bent, John Stevens, Peter le Huray

List price: $66.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


In this second volume of nineteenth-century music analyses, Ian Bent provides a further selection of newly translated writings of nineteenth-century music critics and theorists, including composers such as Wagner, Schumann and Berlioz, and critics such as A. B. Marx and E. T. A. Hoffmann. Where Volume I, on Fugue, Form and Style, presented nineteen analyses of a technical nature, all the writing here involves a metaphorical style of verbalised description, some pure examples, and others hybrid forms mixed with technical analysis. The music analysed is amongst the best-known in the repertoire: Wagner writes on Beethoven's Ninth Symphony, E. T. A. Hoffmann on the Fifth, Schumann writes on…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $66.99
Copyright year: 2005
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 6/30/2005
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 320
Size: 6.50" wide x 9.50" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 1.144
Language: English

Preface to volumes I and II
Elucidatory Analysis: Introduction
[Review: Meyerbeer+s] Les Huguenots: The Score+ (1836)
Report on the Performance of the Ninth Symphony of Beethoven+ (1846)
[Beethoven: Piano Sonata in F, Op. 10 no.2]+ (1852)
[Beethoven: Piano Sonata] in F minor, Op. 57 (Appassionata)+ (1856)
[J.S. Bach: Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba and Harpsichord, BWV1027-9]+ (1873)
Prelude+, +Act I [Scene 1]+, Parsifal: A Thematic Guide through the Poetry and the Music (1882)
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 [in E flat (+Romantic+)]+ (1898)
Objective-Subjective Analysis: The Hermeneutic Circle: Introduction
Analysis of Haydn+s Symphony [No. 103 in Eb (+Drumroll+)]+ (1805)
[Review: Beethoven+s Symphony No. 5 in C minor]+ (1810)
[Review of Berlioz: Fantastic Symphony]+ (1835)
[Verdi:] Simon Boccanegra+ (1859)
[Beethoven:]The Final Symphony+ (1859)
[Beethoven:] String Quartet in A minor, Op. 132+ (1885)
Afterword to volumes I and II
Bibliographical essay