Brahms Symphony

ISBN-10: 0393966771

ISBN-13: 9780393966770

Edition: 2000

List price: $19.90
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


Highlights of the Norton Critical Score of Symphony No. 4 : * The first edition of the score with Brahm's corrections incorporated * Historical background * Correspondence before publication * Reviews of first and early performances * Analysis and criticism by music scholars, including: Hugo Riemann, "Johannes Brahms, Fourth Symphony in E-minor" (1897); Heinrich Schenker, from Free Composition (1935); Rene Leibowitz, "Aimez-vous Brahms?" (1971); Walter Frisch, from Brahms: The Four Symphonies (1996); Raymond Knapp, from Brahms and the Cahllenge of the Symphony (1997).
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Terminology Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Math Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $19.90
Copyright year: 2000
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, Incorporated
Publication date: 3/8/2000
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 336
Size: 6.14" wide x 8.19" long x 0.77" tall
Weight: 0.946
Language: English

The Score of Symphony No. 4. OP. 98
Allegro non troppo
Andante moderato
Allegro giocoso
Allegro energico e passionato
Textual Notes
Background and Context
Historical Background
Correspondence before Publication
Brahms and Elisabet von Herzogenberg (1884-86)
Brahms and Joseph Joachim (1886)
Reviews of First and Early Performances
Frankfurt, November 3, 1885
The Hague, November 14, 1885
Vienna, January 17, 1886
Berlin, February 1, 1886
Hamburg, April 9, 1886
London, May 10, 1886
New York, December 11, 1886
Paris January 12, 1890
Analysis and Criticism
from Guide to the Concert Hall (1887)
"Johannes Brahms, Fourth Symphony (E minor) (1897)"
from Johannes Brahms (1912)
from Essays in Musical Analysis (1917)
from Free Composition (1935)
from "The Structural Foundations of the Brahms Symphonies" (1968)
from "Aimez-vous Brahms?" (1971)
"The Retreat from Dynamism: A Study of Brahms's Fourth Symphony" (1983)
from Brahms: The Four Symphonies (1996)
from Brahms and the Challenge of the Symphony (1997)
from "Allusive Irony in Brahms's Fourth Symphony" (1998)
Further Reading
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.