Skip to content

Confessions An Innocent Life in Communist China

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0393064670

ISBN-13: 9780393064674

Edition: 2007

Authors: Kang Zhengguo, Susan Wilf, Perry Link, Z. C. Kang

List price: $27.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


A revealing memoir of human resilience in the face of nightmarish power. With clear vision this intimate memoir draws us into the intersections of everyday life and Communist power from the first days of "Liberation" in 1949 through the Tiananmen Square protests and after. The son of a professional family, Kang Zhengguo is a free spirit, drawn to literature. In Mao's China, these innocuous circumstances expose him at the age of twenty to a fierce struggle session, expulsion from university, and a four-year term of hard labor in Xian's Number Two Brickyard. So begins his long stay in the prison-camp system, a story of hardship and poignance, of warmth and humor in the face of cruelty. He…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $27.95
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, Incorporated
Publication date: 6/17/2007
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 480
Size: 6.50" wide x 9.50" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.760
Language: English

Susan Wilf teaches at George School in Pennsylvania and was awarded a PEN Translation Fund Grant for Confessions.

List of Illustrations
Silent Garden
My Diaries
Freshman Year
A Glib Confession
Emergency Transfer
The Dregs of Society
The Gates of Hell
Disaster Strikes
Dreams of Freedom
Unwelcome Guests
Dr. Zhivago
Underground in Xi'an
A Chance Encounter
Love in an Abandoned Temple
Lessons from a Goddess of Love
Prisoner Number Two
Food Fantasies
The Verdict
The Holding Cell
A Shattered Dream
An Overdose of Potatoes
Sisyphean Labors
The Rope of the Law
Stolen Treats
Adopted Son
Reincarnation as a Peasant
My Adoptive Father
A City Slicker in the Countryside
A Skillful Mechanic
An Old Flame
Clock Repairman
A Fleeting Idyll
Back in the Cooler
The Forbidden Radio
Father's Death
My Wife
A Woman Is the Heart of a Home
A Recurring Nightmare
You Can't Go Home Again
A Small World
"Aim Your Guns Here"
My Nightmare Comes True
Arrested Again
Farewell to China
Breaking the Silence
Epilogue: My Children
Translators Note