Skip to content


ISBN-10: 022603870X

ISBN-13: 9780226038704

Edition: 2013

Authors: Mark Halliday

List price: $18.00
eBook available
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Starting from $18.00
Buy eBooks
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


In his sixth collection, Mark Halliday continues to seek ways of using the smart playfulness of such poets as Frank O’Hara and Kenneth Koch to explore life’s emotional mysteries—both dire and hilarious—from the perpetual dissolving of our past to the perpetual frustration of our cravings for ego-triumph, for sublime connection with an erotically idealized Other, and for peace of spirit. Animated by belief in the possible truths to be reached in interpersonal speech, Halliday’s voice-driven poetry wants to find insight—or at least a stay against confusion—throughpersonality without being trappedinpersonality. History will leave much of what we are on the threshing floor, Halliday notes, but in the meantime we do what we can; let posterity (if any!) say we rambled truly.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $18.00
Copyright year: 2013
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Publication date: 5/15/2013
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 88
Size: 6.00" wide x 9.00" long x 0.25" tall
Weight: 0.308
Language: English

Lois in the Sunny Tree
Quite Frankly
Sweet and Dandy
Return to Elmgrove
Vacation Day in 1983
There We Were
Historic Shirt
Thanks to Acker Bilk
Frankfort Laundromat
240 Sneakers
Ted's Elegiac Work
Bev and Broadway
Spunktilio Awaits the Biographer
Visionary Age 79
Yvette Vickers
After You Die
Classic Blunder
Just In Time
Ferguson High
Sorority Softball
Double Reverse
Wide Receiver
La Marquise de Gloire
Flang Flight
Ducks Not in Row
Pathos of the Momentary Smile
Huge Party
Before Dawn
Pathos of the Detective
Threshed Out
Assisted Living
Livin' in the World
Lingo Bistro
New New Poetics
Thanks for Your Book
Talented Youth
Mildewed Anthologies
Reader Depressed
His Alley Metaphor
The One for Her

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.
Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.