Skip to content

Shostakovich A Life

ISBN-10: 0195182510

ISBN-13: 9780195182514

Edition: 2005

Authors: Laurel E. Fay

List price: $24.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


For this authoritative post-cold-war biography of Shostakovich's illustrious but turbulent career under Soviet rule, Laurel E. Fay has gone back to primary documents: Shostakovich's many letters, concert programs and reviews, newspaper articles, and diaries of his contemporaries. An indefatigable worker, he wrote his arresting music despite deprivations during the Nazi invasion and constant surveillance under Stalin's regime. Shostakovich's life is a fascinating example of the paradoxes of living as an artist under totalitarian rule. In August 1942, his Seventh Symphony, written as a protest against fascism, was performed in Nazi-besieged Leningrad by the city's surviving musicians, and was triumphantly broadcast to the German troops, who had been bombarded beforehand to silence them. Alone among his artistic peers, he survived successive Stalinist cultural purges and won the Stalin Prize five times, yet in 1948 he was dismissed from his conservatory teaching positions, and many of his works were banned from performance. He prudently censored himself, in one case putting aside a work based on Jewish folk poems. Under later regimes he balanced a career as a model Soviet, holding government positions and acting as an international ambassador with his unflagging artistic ambitions. In the years since his death in 1975, many have embraced a view of Shostakovich as a lifelong dissident who encoded anti-Communist messages in his music. This lucid and fascinating biography demonstrates that the reality was much more complex. Laurel Fay's book includes a detailed list of works, a glossary of names, and an extensive bibliography, making it an indispensable resource for future studies of Shostakovich.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $24.99
Copyright year: 2005
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 7/7/2005
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 488
Size: 6.00" wide x 9.00" long x 1.50" tall
Weight: 1.738
Language: English

List of Illustrations
Note on Transliteration
Childhood (1906-1919)
Conservatory (1919-1926)
Spreading Wings (1926-1928)
Pioneer (1929-1932)
Tragedy-Satire (1932-1936)
Crisis (1936-1937)
Reprieve (1938-1941)
The War Years (1941-1944)
"Victory" (1945-1948)
Public and Private (1948-1953)
The Thaw (1953-1958)
Consolidation (1958-1961)
Renewal (1961-1966)
Jubilees (1966-1969)
Immortality (1970-1975)
List of Works
Glossary of Names
Select Bibliiography