Borges A Life

ISBN-10: 0143035568

ISBN-13: 9780143035565

Edition: 2005

Authors: Edwin Williamson, Jorge Luis Borges

List price: $18.00
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


Edwin Williamsons major new biography is the first in any language to encompass the entire span of Jorge Luis Borgess life and work. Drawing upon previously unknown or unavailable sources, it brings out the human side of Borges: his roots in Argentina, the evolution of his political ideas, his relations with family and friends, the conflicts, desires, and obsessions that drove the man and shaped his work. Williamsons definitive biography finally unlocks the mysteries that still surround the life of Borges, resulting in a compelling and poignant portrait that will radically transform established views of this modern master.
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Italian Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $18.00
Copyright year: 2005
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 7/26/2005
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 574
Size: 6.00" wide x 9.00" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.408
Language: English

Edwin Williamson is the King Alfonso XIII Professor of Spanish Studies at the University of Oxford and a Fellow of Exeter College, Oxford. He is the author of The Penguin History of Latin America (updated and revised edition, 2009) and his acclaimed biography, Borges: A Life (2004), has been translated into several languages.

Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in 1899, Jorge Borges was educated by an English governess and later studied in Europe. He returned to Buenos Aires in 1921, where he helped to found several avant-garde literary periodicals. In 1955, after the fall of Juan Peron, whom he vigorously opposed, he was appointed director of the Argentine National Library. With Samuel Beckett he was awarded the $10,000 International Publishers Prize in 1961, which helped to establish him as one of the most prominent writers in the world. Borges regularly taught and lectured throughout the United States and Europe. His ideas have been a profound influence on writers throughout the Western world and on the most recent developments in literary and critical theory. A prolific writer of essays, short stories, and plays, Borges's concerns are perhaps clearest in his stories. He regarded people's endeavors to understand an incomprehensible world as fiction; hence, his fiction is metaphysical and based on what he called an esthetics of the intellect. Some critics have called him a mystic of the intellect. Dreamtigers (1960) is considered a masterpiece. A central image in Borges's work is the labyrinth, a mental and poetic construct, that he considered a universe in miniature, which human beings build and therefore believe they control but which nevertheless traps them. In spite of Borges's belief that people cannot understand the chaotic world, he continually attempted to do so in his writing. Much of his work deals with people's efforts to find the center of the labyrinth, symbolic of achieving understanding of their place in a mysterious universe. In such later works as The Gold of the Tigers, Borges wrote of his lifelong descent into blindness and how it affected his perceptions of the world and himself as a writer. Borges died in Geneva in 1986.

The Sword and the Dagger (1899-1921)
Family and Nation
Mother and Father
Childhood (1899-1914)
Geneva (1914-1919)
Spain (1919-1921)
A Poet in Love (1921-1934)
Buenos Aires (1921-1923)
Second Visit to Europe (1923-1924)
Adventures in the Avant-Garde (1925)
The Aleph (1926)
Rejection (1926-1927)
Revenge and Defeat (1927-1930)
Experiments in Fiction (1930-1932)
The Rivals (1933-1934)
A Season in Hell (1934-1944)
Failure (1934-1935)
Isolation (1936-1937)
The Death of Father (1938-1939)
The Example of Dante (1939-1940)
The Garden of Forking Paths (1940-1944)
Of Hell and Heaven (1944-1969)
The "New Beatrice" (1944-1946)
Humiliation and Anguish (1946-1947)
False Hopes (1947-1950)
Borges Against Peron (1950-1955)
La Revolucion Libertadora (1955-1959)
The Rule of Mother (1958-1963)
Deconstructions (1963-1967)
Marriage (1967-1968)
Love Regained (1969-1986)
Iceland (1969-1971)
Between Sunset and Dawn (1971-1975)
A New Dawn in Iceland (1975-1976)
Blue Tigers (1976-1979)
The Music of Japan (1979-1981)
Deconstructing the Nation (1980-1983)
The Weaver of Dreams (1984-1985)
Creating an End (1985-1986)
Glossary of Argentine Terms
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.