Skip to content

Chasing Justice My Story of Freeing Myself after Two Decades on Death Row for a Crime I Didn't Commit

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 006057464X

ISBN-13: 9780060574642

Edition: 2007

Authors: Kerry Max Cook

List price: $25.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


A brilliant and unprecedented work, Chasing Justice is the riveting chronicle of how a smalltown murder became one of the worst cases of prosecutorial misconduct in American history-and sent the author, an innocent man, to hell for twenty-two harrowing years. Kerry Max Cook is one of the longest-tenured death-row prisoners to be freed: This is his unbelievable story and the only fi rsthand account of its kind. Wrongfully convicted of killing a young woman in Texas, Cook was sentenced to death in 1978 and served two decades on death row, in a prison system so notoriously brutal and violent that in 1980 a federal court ruled that serving time in Texas's jails was "cruel and unusual…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $25.95
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 2/27/2007
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 352
Size: 6.50" wide x 9.25" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.144
Language: English

Kerry Max Cook was born in Stuttgart, Germany, and spent much of his youth on army bases in Europe. In 1972, he and his family returned to the United States to live in Texas. Since gaining his freedom, Cook has been an outspoken advocate for legal reform. He has made numerous national and international media appearances and has lectured at Princeton, Yale, and the University of Chicago. His story was incorporated into the acclaimed play The Exonerated , of which he is often a cast member. He was awarded a Soros Justice Fellowship to write Chasing Justice.

Prologue: 1977
My Family
Pretrial, 1977 and 1978
1978 Trial
Welcome to Death Row
Through the Killing Fields
Men I Could Trust
The More Things Stay the Same: Pretrial, 1992
The 1992 Retrial
Georgetown Rematch, 1994
A November to Remember
The Choice
Living Life
My Travels