Imaginary Poets

ISBN-10: 1932195203

ISBN-13: 9781932195200

Edition: 2005

Authors: Alan Michael Parker

List price: $19.95
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description:

Twenty-two notable poets (including Andrew Hudgins, Maxine Kumin, David St. John, and Mark Strand) offer translations of a poem by a poet they find significant, along with a short biography of the poet and an essay. But there's a surprise-the poet and poem presented are invented by the book's 22 contributors! The Imaginary Poets presents exceptional work from major poets who delight in assuming a whole new persona. But the book's ultimate goal is to explore the nature of creativity: What is it to make a poem? To make up a poet? To "translate" a work-is that rewriting or writing? What about translating a work that never existed? What does it mean if you create the creator? In the tradition of Pessoa and Borges, The Imaginary Poets delves delightedly into the very act of invention with a wink, a smile, and tremendous respect for the art. Alan Michael Parker is the author of three books of poems, a novel, and has edited two anthologies. He graduated from Washington University and received his MFA from Columbia. He is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize and fellowships from the Arts & Science Council and the MacDowell Colony, as well as the 2003 Lucille Medwick memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America. His poems appear in The New Yorker, The New Republic, The Paris Review, and others. His prose appears regularly in The New Yorker and The New York Times Book Review. He is director of the creative writing program at Davidson College and performs and lectures widely.
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Italian Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Portuguese Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Spanish Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
German Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $19.95
Copyright year: 2005
Publisher: Tupelo Press, Incorporated
Binding: Perfect 
Pages: 148
Size: 6.75" wide x 9.25" long x 0.50" tall
Weight: 0.682
Language: English

Introductionp. vii
Aliki Barnstone as Eva Victoria Pererap. 1
Josh Bell as Saurah Joan Maop. 9
Laure-Anne Bosselaar as Anne-Maelle Mathieup. 21
Martha Collins as Hoi Anp. 29
Annie Finch as Rose Elbow Sourisp. 33
Judith Hall as J IIp. 41
Barbara Hamby as Gertrude of Brandenburgp. 47
Jennifer Michael Hecht as Kisaru Gashep. 51
Garrett Hongo as Casey Shigemitsup. 55
Andrew Hudgins as Alan Lutiyp. 61
David Kirby as Kevnorp. 67
Maxine Kumin as Greta Schoenemann-Lichtp. 75
Khaled Mattawa as Tafida Zeinhump. 81
D.A. Powell as Joao Pudimp. 87
Kevin Prufer as Wen Bop. 93
Anna Rabinowitz as Hekenusp. 99
Victoria Redel as Tzadie Rackelp. 107
David St. John as Jean-Phillipe Dariensp. 113
Mark Strand as Marin K.p. 119
Thom Ward as Jan DeKeerkp. 127
Rosanna Warren as Anne Verveinep. 135
Eleanor Wilner as Irena Zupanikp. 141
Contributors' Biographiesp. 145
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×