Skip to content


Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 188301137X

ISBN-13: 9781883011376

Edition: N/A

Authors: Edith Wharton, R. W. B. Lewis, Cynthia Griffin Wolff, Edith Wharton

List price: $13.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Four best-selling novels that capture World War I and the Jazz Age through the eyes of one of America's greatest writers. After winning the Pulitzer Prize in 1921 for The Age of Innocence, Edith Wharton published four novels that brought her signature blend of dramatic irony and penetrating social satire to bear on what she called "the growing sense of waste and loss wrought by those irreparable years" of World War I. The Library of America now brings together these brilliant books from the 1920s in the fifth volume of its definitive edition of Wharton's collected works. The Glimpses of the Moon (1922) is a story of love finding its way amidst upper-class social maneuvering. Believed by…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $13.95
Publisher: Library of America, The
Publication date: 10/1/1996
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 1168
Size: 5.00" wide x 7.75" long x 1.75" tall
Weight: 1.980
Language: English

Jane Alison has a bachelor's degree in classics from Princeton University & a M.F.A. from Columbia University. She lives in Germany.

Chicago native Richard Warrington Baldwin Lewis, the son of Leicester and Beatrix (Baldwin) Lewis, was born on November 1, 1917. Lewis was educated in Switzerland, at Phillips Exeter Academy, at Harvard University, at the University of Chicago, where he received his M.A. in 1941. Lewis spent World War II engaged primarily in intelligence work for the British. Following the war, he began a long academic teaching career, focused mainly on American literature and social studies, at Bennington College and Princeton, Rutgers, and Yale universities. Lewis has created such critical and biographical books on authors and 19th-century United States history as The American Adam (1955), Edith Wharton…