Skip to content

Revolutionary Horizons Past and Present in Bolivian Politics

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 184467097X

ISBN-13: 9781844670970

Edition: 2007

Authors: Forrest Hylton, Sinclair Thomson, Adolfo Gilly

List price: $24.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


A comprehensive study of insurrection in Bolivia, from the late eighteenth century to the present day. In an age of military neoliberalism, social movements and center-Left coalition governments have advanced across South America, sparking hope for radical change in a period otherwise characterized by regressive imperial and anti-imperial politics. Nowhere do the limits and possibilities of popular advance stand out as they do in Bolivia, the most heavily indigenous country in the Americas.Revolutionary Horizonstraces the rise to power of Evo Morales's new administration, whose announced goals are to end imperial domination and internal colonialism through nationalization of the country's…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $24.95
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: Verso Books
Publication date: 11/17/2007
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 202
Size: 6.00" wide x 9.25" long x 0.50" tall
Weight: 0.726
Language: English

Sinclair Thomson teaches Latin American History at New York University and is the author of We Alone Will Rule: Native Andean Politics in the Age of Insurgency .

Prologue: The Spirit of Revolt
Pachakuti: Andean Transformations
The Plaza and the Palacio
Revolution in Historical Context
Internal Colonialism and Insurgency, 1781-1984
Indian Rule and Creole Rule in the Age of Revolution, 1781-1825
Alliance and Repression in the Tributary Republic, 1826-1926
National-Popular Stirrings, 1927-44
Toward Revolution and Back, 1945-63
Dictatorship, Democracy, and the National State, 1964-84
The Present as History, 1985-2006
Neoliberal Ascendance and the "War on Drugs," 1985-99
The New Revolutionary Cycle, 2000-3
Anatomy of an Uprising, 2003
Interregnum, 2003-5
Triumph and Closure, December 2005-August 2006
Conclusion: Quip Nayr Untasis Sartanani