Skip to content

Grand Central Winter Stories from the Street

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 1583229183

ISBN-13: 9781583229187

Edition: 2010

Authors: Lee Stringer, Kurt Vonnegut

List price: $14.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $14.95
Copyright year: 2010
Publisher: Seven Stories Press
Publication date: 7/6/2010
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 249
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.25" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 0.484
Language: English

Lee Stringer lived on the streets in the '80s and '90s. His first book, Grand Central Winter, was an international bestseller in 1998. He serves on the board of Mamaronek Libraries and Project Renewal. In addition to other memoirs, Stringer's writing has appeared in The Nation, New York Times, and Newsday.

The appeal of Kurt Vonnegut, especially to bright younger readers of the past few decades, may be attributed partly to the fact that he is one of the few writers who have successfully straddled the imaginary line between science-fiction/fantasy and "real literature." He was born in Indianapolis and attended Cornell University, but his college education was interrupted by World War II. Captured during the Battle of the Bulge and imprisoned in Dresden, he received a Purple Heart for what he calls a "ludicrously negligible wound." After the war he returned to Cornell and then earned his M.A. at the University of Chicago.He worked as a police reporter and in public relations before placing…    

What happened was I was
When I was out there
The Streets of New York City, 1985
Grand Central Terminal, Winter 1985, 12:30 a.m
Grand Central Terminal, Winter 1989
West Forty-sixth Street, Winter 1989
In New York City there are three
Hell's Kitchen, Fall 1994
Valentine's adoptive father
On every smut film crew
I was having a real bad Tuesday
I was smoked out, tapped out
It's time for my nightly crawl
Sure, life on the street
In 1993 I created a
Manhattan has only two seasons
After twelve years of sucking
They say relapse is part
It starts with me missing
If, at the time of this
Project Renewal, Lower East Side, May 1996
About the Author
About Seven Stories Press