Skip to content

Everybody Talks about the Weather... We Don't The Writings of Ulrike Meinhof

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 1583228314

ISBN-13: 9781583228319

Edition: 2008

Authors: Ulrike Meinhof, Karin Bauer, Elfriede Jelinek, Luise Von Flotow, Bettina R�hl

List price: $16.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


No other figure embodies revolutionary politics, radical chic, and the promises and failures of the New Left quite like Ulrike Meinhof (1934-76). In the 1960s, she was known in Europe as a journalist and public intellectual, leading an exciting life in Hamburg's high society with her publisher husband and twin daughters. Ten years later, Meinhof gave up her bourgeois existence to form, with Andreas Baader and Gudrun Ensslin, the Red Army Faction (RAF). Also called the Baader-Meinhof Gang, the group was notorious for its politically motivated acts of violence, including bombings, kidnappings, bank robberies, and shootouts with police.What impels someone to abandon middle-class privilege for…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $16.95
Copyright year: 2008
Publisher: Seven Stories Press
Publication date: 6/3/2008
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 272
Size: 5.50" wide x 7.50" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 0.594
Language: English

Elfriede Jelinek was born on October 20, 1946 in M�rzzuschlag, Styria, Austria. She is an Austrian playwright and novelist. Jelinek was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2004. Jelinek started writing poetry at a young age. She made her literary debut with the collection Lisas Schatten (Lisa's Shadow) in 1967 and received her first literary prize in 1969. Female sexuality, its abuse, and the battle of the sexes in general are prominent topics in her work. Her works include: Wir sind Lockv�gel, Baby! (We are Decoys, Baby!), Die Liebhaberinnen (Women as Lovers) and Die Klavierspielerin (The Piano Teacher). That last novel was the basis for the 2001 Austrian film of the same name,…    

Ulrike Marie Meinhof: a preface
In Search of Ulrike Meinhof: an introduction
Columns by Ulrike Meinhof
Shadows of the Summit Pointing West (1960)
New German Ghetto Show (1960)
A Man with Good Manners: A Day in Court with Karl Wolff (1964)
On the Topic of July 20 (1964)
Dresden (1965)
Hitler Within You (1961)
Human Dignity is Violable (1962)
Deutschland Deutschland among Other Things: Fifteen Years of the Constitution (1964)
Germany without Kennedy (1963)
Vietnam and Germany (1966)
Three Friends of Israel (1967)
Under Visa Duress (1968)
Open Letter to Farah Diba (1967)
Jurgen Bartsch and Society (1968)
Everybody Talks about the Weather (1969)
False Consciousness (1968)
Women in the SDS: Acting on Their Own Behalf (1968)
Water Cannons: Against Women, Too (1968)
File Number XY: Dissolved (1968)
Napalm and Pudding (1967)
Counter-Violence (1968)
From Protest to Resistance (1968)
Setting Fire to Department Stores (1968)
Columnism (1968)
Icon of the Left, Propagandist, and Communist: an afterword
Biographical Notes