Skip to content

Fire in the Ashes Twenty-Five Years among the Poorest Children in America

Best in textbook rentals since 2012!

ISBN-10: 1400052475

ISBN-13: 9781400052479

Edition: N/A

Authors: Jonathan Kozol

List price: $23.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


   In this powerful and culminating work about a group of inner-city children he has known for many years, Jonathan Kozol returns to the scene of his prize-winning books Rachel and Her Children and Amazing Grace, and to the children he has vividly portrayed, to share with us their fascinating journeys and unexpected victories as they grow into adulthood.   For nearly fifty years Jonathan has pricked the conscience of his readers by laying bare the savage inequalities inflicted upon children for no reason but the accident of being born to poverty within a wealthy nation. A winner of the National Book Award, the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, and countless other honors, he has persistently…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $23.00
Publisher: The Crown Publishing Group
Publication date: 9/3/2013
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 368
Size: 5.20" wide x 7.93" long x 0.80" tall
Weight: 0.638
Language: English

Educator and author Jonathan Kozol was born in Boston. He graduated from Harvard University in 1958. Kozol has an concerns with topics such as illiteracy, children trying to learn in bad neighborhoods and homelessness. His books include Death at an Early Age, Illiterate American and Rachel and Her Children: Homeless Families in America.

To the Reader
The Shadow of the Past
The Journey Begins
Eric and His Sister
Pietro and His Children
Silvio: Invincible
Alice Washington: The Details of Life
A Bright Shining Light
The Boy Who Ate a Giant Bag of Cookies While He Walked Me All Around the Neighborhood, and His Very Interesting Mom
Pineapple Comes of Age (Part One)
Pineapple in All Her Glory (And Still Bossing Me Around)
A Life of the Mind (Jeremy, Part One)
No Easy Victories (Jeremy, Part Two)
The Killing Fields
Number Our Days
Epilogue: Pineapple Has a Few More Things to Say