Skip to content

American Passages A History of the United States

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0618914463

ISBN-13: 9780618914463

Edition: 3rd 2007

Authors: David M. Oshinsky, Jean R. Soderlund, Edward L. Ayers, Lewis L. Gould

List price: $328.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


American Passages places a unique emphasis on cause-and-effect relationships over time, offering students a complete, compelling narrative, and providing balanced coverage of political, economic, social, cultural, military, religious, and intellectual history. Rather than grouping facets of historical change into "themes" or "topics," the authors focus on the intertwined nature of three characteristics of time: sequence, simultaneity, and contingency. The Third Edition includes four new Passages features that use visuals and narratives to illustrate the passage of time and act as both a summary of previous material and a bridge to new chapters. These essays are accompanied by maps that…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $328.95
Edition: 3rd
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: CENGAGE Learning
Publication date: 12/18/2006
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 1056
Size: 8.75" wide x 11.00" long x 1.50" tall
Weight: 5.148
Language: English

He is also an associate editor of the American National Biography. Oshinsky writes about the brutality of penitentiary life in his book, Worse Than Slavery: Parchman Farm and the Ordeal of Jim Crow Justice. He earned a Senior Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities and an appointment as Distinguished Professor of History at the University of Texas, Austin for his work on the penitentiary project. Oshinsky also received the 17th Annual Robert F. Kennedy Book Award for his novel.

Passages: Prehistory to 1763 1. Contact, Conflict, and Exchange in the Atlantic World to 1590 2. Colonization of North America, 1590-1675 3. Crisis and Change, 1675-1720 4. The Expansion of Colonial British America, 1720-1763 Passages: 1764 to 1814 5. Wars for Independence, 1764-1783 6. Toward a More Perfect Union, 1783-1788 7. The Federalist Republic, 1789-1799 8. The New Republic Faces a New Century, 1800-1815 Passages: 1815 to 1855 9. Exploded Boundaries, 1815-1828 10. The Years of Andrew Jackson, 1829-1836 11. Panic and Boom, 1837-1845 12. Expansion and Reaction, 1846-1854 Passages: 1855 to 1877 13. Broken Bonds, 1855-1861 14. Descent Into War, 1861-1862 15. Blood and Freedom, 1863-1867…