Marble Faun

ISBN-10: 0486434117

ISBN-13: 9780486434117

Edition: 2004

List price: $6.00 Buy it from $3.00
eBook available
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


Murder and romance, innocence and experience dominate this sinister novel set in mid-19th-century Rome. Three young American artists and their friend, an Italian count, find their lives irrevocably linked when one of them commits a violent crime of passion. Hawthorne's final novel is "must reading" for its captivating details of Old World landmarks and its symbolic narrative of the Fall of Man.
Used Starting from $6.35
New Starting from $7.61
eBooks Starting from $3.50
Buy eBooks
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $6.00
Copyright year: 2004
Publisher: Dover Publications, Incorporated
Publication date: 6/4/2004
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 304
Size: 5.00" wide x 8.00" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 0.550
Language: English

Nathaniel Hawthorne was born on July 4, 1804 in Salem, Mass. When Hawthorne was four years old, his father died. Years later, with financial help from his maternal relatives who recognized his literary talent, Hawthorne was able to enroll in Bowdoin College. Among his classmates were the important literary and political figures Horatio Bridge, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and Franklin Pierce. These friends supplied Hawthorne with employment during the early years after graduation while Hawthorne was still establishing himself as a legitimate author. Hawthorne's first novel, Fanshawe, which he self-published in 1928, wasn't quite the success that he had hoped it would be. Not willing to give up, Hawthorne began writing stories for Twice-Told Tales. These stories established Hawthorne as a leading writer. In 1842, Hawthorne moved to Concord, Mass., where he wrote a number of tales, including "Rappaccini's Daughter" and "Young Goodman Brown," that were later published as Mosses from an Old Manse. The overall theme of Hawthorne's novels was a deep concern with ethical problems of sin, punishment, and atonement. No one novel demonstrated that more vividly than The Scarlet Letter. This tale about the adulterous Puritan Hester Prynne is regarded as Hawthorne's best work and is a classic of American literature. Other famous novels written by Hawthorne include The House of Seven Gables and The Blithedale Romance. In 1852, Hawthorne wrote a campaign biography of his college friend Franklin Pierce. After Pierce was elected as President of the United States, he rewarded Hawthorne with the Consulship at Liverpool, England. Hawthorne died in his sleep on May 19, 1864, while on a trip with Franklin Pierce.

Author's Preface
Miriam, Hilda, Kenyon, Donatello
The Faun
Subterranean Reminiscences
The Specter of the Catacomb
Miriam's Studio
The Virgin's Shrine
The Suburban Villa
The Faun and Nymph
The Sylvan Dance
Fragmentary Sentences
A Stroll on the Pincian
A Sculptor's Studio
An Aesthetic Company
A Moonlight Ramble
Miriam's Trouble
On the Edge of a Precipice
The Faun's Transformation
The Burial Chant
The Dead Capuchin
The Medici Gardens
Miriam and Hilda
The Tower Among the Apennines
The Pedigree of Monte Beni
The Owl Tower
On the Battlements
Donatello's Bust
The Marble Saloon
Scenes by the Way
Pictured Windows
Market Day in Perugia
The Bronze Pontiff's Benediction
Hilda's Tower
The Emptiness of Picture Galleries
Altars and Incense
The World's Cathedral
Hilda and a Friend
Snowdrops and Maidenly Delights
Reminiscences of Miriam
The Extinction of a Lamp
The Deserted Shrine
The Flight of Hilda's Doves
A Walk on the Campagna
The Peasant and Contadina
A Scene in the Corso
A Frolic in the Carnival
Miriam, Hilda, Kenyon, Donatello
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.