All You Have to Do Is Listen Music from the Inside Out

ISBN-10: 0470385448

ISBN-13: 9780470385449

Edition: 2008

Authors: Rob Kapilow

List price: $29.95 Buy it from $4.29
eBook available
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


Modeled on Aaron Copland's classic What to Listen for in Music, Rob Kapilow, star of NPR's Performance Today, has written an engaging book about listening to music for the 21st century -- for an entirely new breed of listeners, with completely different musical background, requiring completely different kinds of approaches, topics, and language. Kapilow helps readers become great listeners, based on his belief that the core of great listening has less to do with facts and far more to do with our ability to pay attention, listen closely, and notice. He shows how to listen to music from the inside out: from the composer's point of view, about all the things in a piece of music that composers want you to hear but that are so often missed. He gives readers a non-traditional listening toolbox filled with ideas and suggestions that will help enrich the reader's musical experiences. Each chapter explores a single often seemingly simple concept drawn from everyday experience designed to help readers think about and hear music differently. The book is organized like a piece of music, introducing topics as they arise in listening to a composition from beginning to end, so that the focus gradually widens as the book progresses: from idea, to phrase, to section, to movement.
New Starting from $20.78
eBooks Starting from $13.99
Buy eBooks
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Terminology Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Math Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $29.95
Copyright year: 2008
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated
Publication date: 9/1/2008
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 256
Size: 6.25" wide x 9.50" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 1.342
Language: English

How to Use the Web Site
Prelude: All You Have to Do Is Listen
Does Music Have a Plot?
Beginnings Are Everything
Comma, Semicolon, Period: The Meaning of Cadence
Compared-to-What Listening
Forward-Backward Listening
The Challenge of Memory
Form Is a Verb
From Dancing to Listening: Minuets and Scherzos
Sonata Form: A Story in Three Acts
Passacaglia, Chaconne, and Fugue: Out of One, Many
How Could This Come from That?: The Art of Theme and Variations
The Individual versus the Community: The Concerto
Finished versus Complete
Postlude: The Role of the Performer
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.