Skip to content

Plundered Hearts New and Selected Poems

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0385351518

ISBN-13: 9780385351515

Edition: 2014

Authors: J. D. McClatchy

List price: $33.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Description:

At last-a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden, Elizabeth Bishop-one who balances an exploration of the underworld of desire with a mastery of poetic form, and whose artistry reveals the riches and ruins of our "plundered hearts." Now, opening with exquisite new poems-including the stunning "My Hand Collection," a catalogue of art objects that steals up on the complexity of human touch, and a witty and profound poem entitled "My Prostatectomy"-this selection is a glorious full tour of McClatchy's career. It includes excerpts from the powerful book-length sequence Ten Commandments (1998) and his more recent works Hazmat(2002) and Mercury Dressing (2009), for which he has been hailed as a poet of "ferocious alertness," one who elicits (says The New Leader) "the kind of wonder and joy we experience when the curtain comes down on a dazzling performance."
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $33.00
Copyright year: 2014
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 3/25/2014
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 288
Size: 6.25" wide x 9.50" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.188
Language: English

J. D. McClatchy is the author of four books of poems, two books of literary essays, & four opera libretti. He is the editor of "The Yale Review" & a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.