Skip to content

Marguerite de Navarre Mother of the Renaissance

ISBN-10: 0231134126

ISBN-13: 9780231134125

Edition: 2nd 2005 (Revised)

Authors: Patricia Francis Cholakian, Rouben Charles Cholakian, Rouben C. Cholakian

Shipping box This item qualifies for FREE shipping.
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Buy eBooks
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Sister to the king of France, queen of Navarre, gifted writer, religious reformer, and patron of the arts-in her many roles, Marguerite de Navarre (1492-1549) was one of the most important figures of the French Renaissance. In this, the first major biography in English, Patricia F. Cholakian and Rouben C. Cholakian draw on her writings to provide a vivid portrait of Marguerite's public and private life. Freeing her from the shadow of her brother Franois I, they recognize her immense influence on French politics and culture, and they challenge conventional views of her family relationships. The authors highlight Marguerite's considerable role in advancing the cause of religious reform in France-her support of vernacular translations of sacred works, her denunciation of ecclesiastical corruption, her founding of orphanages and hospitals, and her defense and protection of persecuted reformists. Had this plucky and spirited woman not been sister to the king, she would most likely have ended up at the stake. Though she remained a devout catholic, her theological poem Miroir de l'me pcheresse, a mystical summa of evangelical doctrine that was viciously attacked by conservatives, remains to this day an important part of the Protestant corpus. Marguerite, along with her brother the king, was a key architect and animator of the refined entertainments that became the hallmark of the French court. Always eager to encourage new ideas, she supported many of the illustrious writers and thinkers of her time. Moreover, uniquely for a queen, she was herself a prolific poet, dramatist, and prose writer and published a two-volume anthology of her works. In reassessing Marguerite's enormous oeuvre, the authors reveal the range and quality of her work beyond her famous collection of tales, posthumously called the Heptamron. The Cholakians' groundbreaking reading of the rich body of her work, which uncovers autobiographical elements previously unrecognized by most scholars, and their study of her surviving correspondence portray a life that fully justifies Marguerite's sobriquet, "Mother of the Renaissance."
Customers also bought

Book details

Edition: 2nd
Copyright year: 2005
Publisher: Columbia University Press
Publication date: 12/13/2005
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 448
Size: 6.30" wide x 9.17" long x 1.28" tall
Weight: 1.782
Language: English

Patricia F. Cholakian was professor emerita at Hamilton College. She was the author of Rape and Writing in the Hemptam�ron of Marguerite de Navarreand Women and the Politics of Self-Representation in Seventeenth-Century France.Rouben C. Cholakian is professor emeritus at Hamilton College and the author of The Bayeux Tapestry and the Ethos of Warand The Troubadour Lyric: A Psychocritical Reading.

The Deeds of Ferderick Barbarossa A Letter of the August Emperor to Otto, Bishop of Friesing
The First Book
The Chapters
The Prologue
The Text
The Second Book
The Chapters
The Prologue
The Text
The Third Book
The Chapters
The Prologue
The Text Part 5
The Fourth Book
The Chapters
The Text