Skip to content

Road to Serfdom Text and Documents

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0226320553

ISBN-13: 9780226320557

Edition: 2007

Authors: F. A. Hayek, Bruce Caldwell, Bruce Caldwell, Bruce Caldwell

List price: $17.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


An unimpeachable classic work in political philosophy, intellectual and cultural history, and economics, "The Road to Serfdom" has inspired and infuriated politicians, scholars, and general readers for half a century. Originally published in 1944--when Eleanor Roosevelt supported the efforts of Stalin, and Albert Einstein subscribed lock, stock, and barrel to the socialist program--"The Road to Serfdom" was seen as heretical for its passionate warning against the dangers of state control over the means of production. For F. A. Hayek, the collectivist idea of empowering government with increasing economic control would lead not to a utopia but to the horrors of Nazi Germany and Fascist…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $17.00
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Publication date: 3/30/2007
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 304
Size: 5.75" wide x 8.75" long x 0.85" tall
Weight: 1.210
Language: English

Editorial Foreword
The Road to Serfdom
Preface to the Original Editions
Foreword to the 1956 American Paperback Edition
Preface to the 1976 Edition
The Abandoned Road
The Great Utopia
Individualism and Collectivism
The "Inevitability" of Planning
Planning and Democracy
Planning and the Rule of Law
Economic Control and Totalitarianism
Who, Whom?
Security and Freedom
Why the Worst Get on Top
The End of Truth
The Socialist Roots of Naziism
The Totalitarians in Our Midst
Material Conditions and Ideal Ends
The Prospects of International Order
Bibliographical Note
Related Documents
Nazi-Socialism (1933)
Reader's Report
Reader's Report
Foreword to the 1944 American Edition
Letter from John Scoon to C. Hartley Grattan (1945)
Introduction to the 1994 Edition