Writings on Music, 1965-2000

ISBN-10: 0195151151

ISBN-13: 9780195151152

Edition: 2002

Authors: Steve Reich, Paul Hillier, Paul Hillier

List price: $30.95 Buy it from $29.28
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


In the mid-1960s, Steve Reich radically renewed the musical landscape with a back-to-basics sound that came to be called Minimalism. These early works, characterized by a relentless pulse and static harmony, focused single-mindedly on the process of gradual rhythmic change. Throughout his career, Reich has continued to reinvigorate the music world, drawing from a wide array of classical, popular, sacred, and non-western idioms. His works reflect the steady evolution of an originalmusical mind. Writings on Music documents the creative journey of this thoughtful, groundbreaking composer. These 64 short pieces include Reich's 1968 essay "Music as a Gradual Process," widely considered one of the most influential pieces of music theory in the second half of the 20th century. Subsequent essays, articles, and interviews treat Reich's early work with tape and phase shifting, showing its development into more recent work with speech melody and instrumental music. Other essaysrecount his exposure to non-western music -- African drumming, Balinese gamelan, Hebrew cantillation -- and the influence of these musics as structures and not as sounds. The writings include Reich's reactions to and appreciations of the works of his contemporaries (John Cage, Luciano Berio, Morton Feldman, GyorgyLigeti) and older influences (Kurt Weill, Schoenberg). Each major work of the composer's career is also explored through notes written for performances and recordings. Paul Hillier, himself a respected figure in the early music and new music worlds, has revisited these texts, working with the author to clarify their central narrative: the aesthetic and intellectual development of an influential composer. For long-time listeners and young musicians recently introduced to his work, this book provides an opportunity to get to know Reich's music in greater depth and perspective.
New Starting from $29.78
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Sociology Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $30.95
Copyright year: 2002
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 10/28/2004
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 272
Size: 6.25" wide x 9.25" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.946
Language: English

Writings on Music
Author's Preface
Editor's Preface
Early Works (1965-68)
Excerpts from an Interview in Art Forum
Music as a Gradual Process (1968)
Wavelength by Michael Snow (1968)
The Phase Shifting Pulse Gate-four Organs-phase Patterns-an End to Electronics (1968-70)
Some Optimistic Predictions (1970) About the Future of Music
First Interview with Michael Nyman (1970)
Gahu-a Dance of the Ewe Tribe in Ghana (1971)
Drumming (1971)
Clapping Music (1972)
Postscript to a Brief Study of Balinese and African Music (1973)
Notes on Music and Dance (1973)
Six Pianos (1973)
Music for Mallet Instruments, Voices, and Organ (1973)
Steve Reich and Musicans (1973)
Music and Performance (1969-74; 1993)
Videotape and a Composer (1968)
Dachau, 1974 by Beryl Korot
Music for 18 Musicians (1976)
Second Interview with Michael Nyman (1976)
Music for a Large Ensemble (1978)
Octet (1979)
Variations for Winds, Strings, and Keyboards (1979)
Tehillim (1981)
Hebrew Cantillation as an Influence on Composition (1982)
Vermont Counterpoint (1982)
Eight Lines (1983)
The Desert Music (1984)
The Desert Music-steve Reich in Conversation with Jonathan Cott (1984)
Sextet (1985)
New York Counterpoint (1985)
Three Movements (1986)
Tenney (1986)
Texture-space-survival (1987)
The Four Sections (1987)
Electric Counterpoint (1987)
Non-Western Music and the Western Composer (1988)
Different Trains (1988)
Chamber Music-an Expanded View (1989)
Questionnaire (1989)
On the Size and Seating of an Orchestra (1990)
Aaron Copland (1990)
John Cage (1992)
Kurt Weill, the Orchestra, and Vocal Style-an Interview with K. Robert Schwarz (1992)
The Cave
Jonathan Cott Interviews Beryl Korot and Steve Reich on the Cave (1993)
Thoughts About the Madness in Abraham's Cave (1994) Steve Reich and Beryl Korot
Answers to Questions About Different Trains (1994)
Duet (1994)
Nagoya Marimbas (1994)
The Future of Music for the Next 150 Years (1994)
Beautiful /ugly (1994)
Sch�nberg (1995)
City Life (1995)
Proverb (1995)
Music and Language (1996)
Feldman (1997)
Berio (1997)
Three Tales (1998-2002) Steve Reich and Beryl Korot
Triple Quartet (1999)
Know What is Above You (1999)
Two Questions About Opera (1999)
Ligeti (2000)
De Keersmaeker, Kylian, and European Dance (2000)
Steve Reich in Conversation with Paul Hillier (2000)
Text Credits
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.