Skip to content

Ward No. 6 And Other Stories, 1892-1895

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0140447865

ISBN-13: 9780140447866

Edition: 2002

Authors: Anton Chekhov, Ronald Wilks, J. Douglas Clayton, J. Douglas Clayton

List price: $12.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


These stories depict forms of mental experience that include depression, megalomania, boredom and frustration. In each tale, the characters experience moments in which they face the truth of their existence.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $12.00
Copyright year: 2002
Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Publication date: 8/27/2002
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 368
Size: 5.25" wide x 7.75" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 0.484
Language: English

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov was born in the provincial town of Taganrog, Ukraine, in 1860. In the mid-1880s, Chekhov became a physician, and shortly thereafter he began to write short stories. Chekhov started writing plays a few years later, mainly short comic sketches he called vaudvilles. The first collection of his humorous writings, Motley Stories, appeared in 1886, and his first play, Ivanov, was produced in Moscow the next year. In 1896, the Alexandrinsky Theater in St. Petersburg performed his first full- length drama, The Seagull. Some of Chekhov's most successful plays include The Cherry Orchard, Uncle Vanya, and Three Sisters. Chekhov brought believable but complex personalizations to…    

Ronald Wilks has translated Chekhovs short stories, as well as the work of other Russian writers, for Penguin Classics.John Sutherland teaches English at University College, London and has edited several works for Penguin Classics.

Anton Chekhov (1860-1904) was a physician and writer of short stories and plays, including the masterpieces Uncle Vanya, The Seagull, and The Cherry Orchard.

Further reading
Note on text
The Grasshopper
Ward No. 6
The Black Monk
A Woman's Kingdom
The Two Volodyas
Three Years
The Student
Publishing history and notes