Skip to content

Predictably Irrational The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions

ISBN-10: 0061353248

ISBN-13: 9780061353246

Edition: 2010 (Revised)

Authors: Dan Ariely

List price: $16.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Description:

In the tradition of "Freakonomics" and "Blink," a behavioral economist argues that human behavior is often anything but rational--that thoughts are not random, but instead are systematic and predictable.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $16.99
Copyright year: 2010
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 4/27/2010
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 384
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.25" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 0.836
Language: English

Dan Ariely was born in 1968 in New York, but he grew up in Israel. He was a physics and mathematics major at Tel Aviv University but later switched to philosophy. He holds an M.A. and Ph.D. in cognitive psychology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and a Ph.D. in business from Duke University. He has taught at numerous universities including MIT Sloan School of Management, MIT's Media Lab, and Duke University. He is considered one of the leading behavioral economists. His work has been featured in several scholarly journals in the areas of psychology, economics, neuroscience, medicine and business. He has also been published in the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, The New Yorker, and Scientific American. He is a regular commentator on National Public Radio and has appeared on CNN and CNBC. He is the author of Predictably Irrational: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions, The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home, and The (Honest) Truth about Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone - Especially Ourselves.

Introduction: How an Injury Led Me to Irrationality and to the Research Described Here
The Truth about Relativity: Why Everything Is Relative—Even When It Shouldn't Be
The Fallacy of Supply and Demand: Why the Price of Pearls—and Everything Else—Is Up in the Air
The Cost of Zero Cost: Why We Often Pay Too Much When We Pay Nothing
The Cost of Social Norms: Why We Are Happy to Do Things, but Not When We Are Paid to Do Them
The Power of a Free Cookie: How free Can Make Us Less Selfish
The Influence of Arousal: Why Hot Is Much Hotter Than We Realize
The Problem of Procrastination and Self-Control: Why We Can't Make Ourselves Do What We Want to Do
The High Price of Ownership: Why We Overvalue What We Have
Keeping Doors Open: Why Options Distract Us from Our Main Objective
The Effect of Expectations: Why the Mind Gets What It Expects
The Power of Price: Why a 50-Cent Aspirin Can Do What a Penny Aspirin Can't
The Cycle of Distrust: Why We Don't Believe What Marketers Tell Us
The Context of Our Character, Part I: Why We Are Dishonest, and What We Can Do about It
The Context of Our Character, Part II: Why Dealing with Cash Makes Us More Honest
Beer and Free Lunches: What Is Behavioral Economics, and Where Are the Free Lunches?
Thanks
List of Collaborators
Notes
Bibliography and Additional Readings