x

Our Privacy Policy has changed. By using this site, you agree to the Privacy Policy.

Last Three Miles Politics, Murder, and the Construction of America's First Superhighway

ISBN-10: 1595580980
ISBN-13: 9781595580986
Edition: 2007
Authors: Steven Hart
List price: $24.95 Buy it from $3.00
eBook available
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: In the tradition of Robert Caro'sThe Power Broker, a sweeping, investigative history of the building of the road connecting Manhattan to the rest of the country. At the dawn of America's love affair with the automobile, cars and trucks leaving the  More...

New Starting from $20.12
eBooks Starting from $24.95
Buy
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Ethics Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Law Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Management Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $24.95
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: New Press, The
Publication date: 6/5/2007
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 288
Size: 5.76" wide x 8.50" long x 0.68" tall
Weight: 0.792
Language: English

In the tradition of Robert Caro'sThe Power Broker, a sweeping, investigative history of the building of the road connecting Manhattan to the rest of the country. At the dawn of America's love affair with the automobile, cars and trucks leaving the nation's largest city were unceremoniously dumped out of the western end of the Holland Tunnel onto local roads wending their way through the New Jersey Meadowlands. Jersey City mayor Frank Haguedictator of the Hudson County political machine and a national political playerwas a prime mover behind the building of the country's first "superhighway," designed to connect the hub of New York City to the United States of America. Hague's nemesis in this undertaking was union boss Teddy Brandle, and construction of the last three miles of Route 25, later dubbed the Pulaski Skyway, marked an epic battle between big labor and big politics, culminating in a murder and the creation of a motorway so flawed it soon became known as "Death Avenue" now appropriately featured in the opening sequence of the hit HBO seriesThe Sopranos. A book in the tradition of Robert Caro'sThe Power Brokerand Henry Petroski'sEngineers of Dreams, The Last Three Milesbrings to vivid life the riveting and bloodstained back story of a fascinating chapter in the heroic age of public works.

Introduction
The Three Barriers
The Horseshoe Against the World
The Slanted Road
Rice Pudding
Burned Bridges
The War of the Meadows
High, Wide, and Handsome
The Nightstick Must Prevail
Death Avenue
Steel and Ghosts
Acknowledgments
Notes
Bibliography
Index

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×