x

Our Privacy Policy has changed. By using this site, you agree to the Privacy Policy.

Theory of Almost Everything The Standard Model, the Unsung Triumph of Modern Physics

ISBN-10: 0452287863
ISBN-13: 9780452287860
Edition: 2006
Authors: Robert Oerter
List price: $17.00 Buy it from $10.65
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: For fans of Brian Greene and Stephen Hawking, a guide to the most important theory in modern physics, in a tour de force of science writing There are two scientific theories that, taken together, explain the entire universe. The first, which  More...

Used Starting from $10.65
New Starting from $14.87
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $17.00
Copyright year: 2006
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 9/26/2006
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 336
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.50" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 0.638
Language: English

For fans of Brian Greene and Stephen Hawking, a guide to the most important theory in modern physics, in a tour de force of science writing There are two scientific theories that, taken together, explain the entire universe. The first, which describes the force of gravity, is widely known: Einsteins General Theory of Relativity. But the theory that explains everything elsethe Standard Model of Elementary Particlesis virtually unknown among the general public. In The Theory of Almost Everything, Robert Oerter shows how what were once thought to be separate forces of nature were combined into a single theory by some of the most brilliant minds of the twentieth century. Rich with accessible analogies and lucid prose, The Theory of Almost Everythingcelebrates a heretofore unsung achievement in human knowledgeand reveals the sublime structure that underlies the world as we know it. BACKCOVER: This highly accessible volume explains the Standard Model to the everyman, using literary references and easy-to-follow analogies to make clear mind-bending physics principles. Publishers Weekly Accessible and engagingThis book is for anyone interested in modern physics and ultimate answers about the universe. Science News

ROBERT OERTERteaches physics at George Mason University. He has done research in the areas of supergravity, especially as applied to superstring theories, and in the quantum mechanics of chaotic systems.

Introduction
The First Unifications
Einstein's Relativity and Noether's Theorem
The End of the World As We Know It
(Im)probabilities
The Bizarre Reality of QED
Feynman's Particles, Schwinger's Fields
Welcome to the Subatomic Zoo
The Color of Quarks
The Weakest Link
The Standard Model, At Last
The Edge of Physics
New Dimensions
Quarks and the Eightfold Way
Asymptotic Freedom
Interactions of the Standard Model
Glossary
References
Further Reading
Index

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×