Plundered Hearts New and Selected Poems

ISBN-10: 0385351518
ISBN-13: 9780385351515
Edition: 2014
Authors: J. D. McClatchy
List price: $33.00 Buy it from $3.00
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: At last-a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect and prismatic emotion, in  More...

Used Starting from $15.32
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Art Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of World Philosophies Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
American History Volume 1 Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Music Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $33.00
Copyright year: 2014
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 3/25/2014
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 288
Size: 6.25" wide x 9.50" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.188
Language: English

At last-a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden, Elizabeth Bishop-one who balances an exploration of the underworld of desire with a mastery of poetic form, and whose artistry reveals the riches and ruins of our "plundered hearts." Now, opening with exquisite new poems-including the stunning "My Hand Collection," a catalogue of art objects that steals up on the complexity of human touch, and a witty and profound poem entitled "My Prostatectomy"-this selection is a glorious full tour of McClatchy's career. It includes excerpts from the powerful book-length sequence Ten Commandments (1998) and his more recent works Hazmat(2002) and Mercury Dressing (2009), for which he has been hailed as a poet of "ferocious alertness," one who elicits (says The New Leader) "the kind of wonder and joy we experience when the curtain comes down on a dazzling performance."

J. D. McClatchy is the author of four books of poems, two books of literary essays, & four opera libretti. He is the editor of "The Yale Review" & a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×