Jesus Freaks A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge

ISBN-10: 0061118060
ISBN-13: 9780061118067
Edition: N/A
Authors: Don Lattin
List price: $13.99 Buy it from $3.94
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Under the Banner of Heaven, Don Lattin's Jesus Freaks is the story of a shocking pilgrimage of revenge that left two people dead and shed new light on The Family International, one of the most controversial  More...

Used Starting from $9.46
New Starting from $12.88
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Art Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of World Philosophies Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
American History Volume 1 Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Music Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $13.99
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 9/2/2008
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 256
Size: 5.25" wide x 8.00" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 0.550
Language: English

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Under the Banner of Heaven, Don Lattin's Jesus Freaks is the story of a shocking pilgrimage of revenge that left two people dead and shed new light on The Family International, one of the most controversial religious movements to emerge from the spiritual turmoil of the sixties and seventies. Some say The Family International-previously known as the Children of God-began with the best intentions. But their sexual and spiritual excesses soon forced them to go underground and follow a dark and dangerous path. Their charismatic leader, David "Moses" Berg, preached a radical critique of the piety and hypocrisy of mainstream Christianity. But Berg's message quickly devolved into its own web of lies. He lusted for power and unlimited access to female members of his flock-including young girls and teenagers-and became a drunken tyrant, setting up re-indoctrination camps around the world for rebellious teenagers under his control. Thousands of children raised in The Family would defect and try to live normal lives, but the prophet's heir apparent, Ricky "Davidito" Rodriguez, was unable to either bear the excesses of the cult or fit into normal society. Sexually and emotionally abused as a child, Ricky left the fold and began a crusade to destroy the only family he ever knew, including a plot to kill his own mother. Veteran journalist Don Lattin has written a powerful, engrossing book about this uniquely American tragedy. Jesus Freaks is a cautionary tale for those who fail to question the prophesies and proclamations of anyone who claims to speak for God.

Don Lattinis the author ofThe Harvard Psychedelic Club: How Timothy Leary, Ram Dass, Huston Smith and Andrew Weil Killed the Fifties and Ushered in a New Age for America,Jesus Freaks: A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge,Following Our Bliss: How the Spiritual Ideals of the Sixties Shape our Lives TodayandShopping for Faith: American Religion in the New Millennium. For more information, please visit www.donlattin.com.

Cast of Characters
Introduction
Revenge of the Savior: Westbound on Interstate 10 near the Arizona/California border, January 8, 2005
Mama Berg: Casa Grande Valley Farms, Pima County, Arizona, December 1948
Jesus Freaks: Corner of Haight and Ashbury streets, San Francisco, California, May 1967
Gospel of Rebellion: Light Club, Huntington Beach, California, March 1968
Family Circus: Texas Soul Clinic Ranch, Erath County, Texas, March 1970
My Little Fish: Emergencia Maternidad, Tenerife, Canary Islands, January 1975
Teen Terror: Sunflower Street, Antipolo, Philippines, February 1987
Joy: King County District Court, Seattle, Washington, May 1993
Expert Witness: Church in the Marketplace, Sydney, Australia, January 1994
Elixcia: Family International Offices, Budapest, Hungary, August 1994
Loving Jesus: World Services Publication Unit, Vancouver, Canada, October 1996
Moving On: Family Care Foundation, Dulzura, California, March 2000
Into the Desert: Elderhaven Care Home, Tucson, Arizona, December 25, 2004
Last Date: Apartment of Alisia Arvizu, Scottsdale, Arizona, January 2, 2005
Lost: Tiago's house, Santa Fe, New Mexico, January 8, 2005
"Come Die With Me": Ricky's apartment, Tucson, Arizona, January 8, 2005
End of the Road: Palo Verde Irrigation District, Blythe, California, January 9, 2005
Ricky.com: Cyberspace, March 2007 and beyond
Conclusion
Acknowledgments
Author's Note on the "Mo Letters"
Notes
Bibliography
Index

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×