Skip to content

Cosmic Canticle

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 1880684934

ISBN-13: 9781880684931

Edition: N/A

Authors: Ernesto Cardenal, John Lyons

List price: $21.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Description:

In this epic poem, Cardenal explores Latin American history by relating the evolution of the universe to the development of human understanding. Throughout, Cardenal blends the visible and the invisible, science and poetry, religion and nature, in 43 autonomous yet integrated cantos. "Cosmic Canticle is a towering piece of work, a quite extraordinary achievement."-Harold Pinter "This epic will be compared to Neruda's Canto General. . . . Heady stuff."-Library Journal "Ernesto Cardenal is one of the most important poets writing today. He is one of the giants, in the tradition of Neruda and Guillen. And like all those bearers of a truly human truly transforming art, he is deeply political,…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $21.95
Publisher: Curbstone Press
Publication date: 9/1/2002
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 490
Size: 5.75" wide x 8.50" long x 1.75" tall
Weight: 1.386
Language: English

An ordained priest who lives in Solentiname, a community that he founded, and a member of the Nicaraguan cabinet, Ernesto Cardenal is Latin America's best known exponent of what might be called the literature of the theology of liberation. His poetry is the expression of tension between his faith and a strongly rooted sense of reality and the need for drastic change. Influenced heavily by Thomas Merton, by his residence in the Trappist community of Gethsemane, Kentucky, by English and American poetry, Christianity, and the fact of social injustice, Cardenal consciously writes antirhetorical and often didactic poetry. Frequently, he uses other sources: newspapers, Native American texts, and…    

Big Bang
The Word
Autumn Fugue
Expansion
Stars And Fireflies
Beyond And Closer To Home
The Infinitesimal Calculation Of The Apples
Condensations And Vision Of San Jose De Costa Rica
Song Of Spacetime
Canticle Of The Sun
Gaia
Birth Of Venus
The Tree Of Life
The Hand
Nostalgia For Paradise
The Darkest Before Dawn
Journeys In The Night
Flights Of Victory
Towards The New Man
The Music Of The Spheres
Robber Barons
In An Unexceptional Galaxy
Room 5600
Latin American Documentary
Visit To Weimar
On Earth As In The Heavens
Dance Of The Millions
Epithalamium
Quantum Canticle
Dance Of The Stars
The Empty Grave
In The Heavens There Are Dens Of Thieves
The Deep Outer Darkness
Ancient Sobbing Light
Like The Waves
The Grave Of The Guerrilla
Cosmos As Communion
Assaults On Heaven From The Earth
"The Desired Of Nations" (Of Peoples)
Flight And Love
The Canticle Of Canticles
A Certain Something That They Still
Omega
Bibliography