Skip to content

Adoption Papers

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 185224156X

ISBN-13: 9781852241568

Edition: 2003

Authors: Jackie Kay

List price: $24.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Buy eBooks
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


This work tells the story of a black girl's adoption by a white Scottish couple. The story is told from three different viewpoints - the mother, the birth mother and the daughter.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $24.00
Copyright year: 2003
Publisher: Bloodaxe Books
Publication date: 12/31/1991
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 64
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.50" long x 0.25" tall
Weight: 0.242
Language: English

Mustapha Matura was born in Trinidad and came to England in 1961. He co-founded the Black Theatre Co-operative with the director Charlie Hanson in 1978 under which he wrote the highly successful No Problem! His plays include: Rum an' Coca Cola (Royal Court Theatre and off-Broadway, 1976); Another Tuesday and More, More (the Factory, London, 1978); A Dying Business (Riverside Studios, 1980); One Rule (Riverside Studios, 1981); The Playboy of the West Indies (Oxford Playhouse, 1984, and produced for BBC television, 1985); Trinidad Sisters (Tricycle Theatre, 1988) and The Coup (Royal National Theatre, 1991). In 1991, Mustapha received the Trinidad and Tobago Government Scarlet Ibis Award for achievement.Jackie Kay is an award-winning writer of fiction, poetry and plays, whose subtle investigation into the complexities of identity have been informed by her own life. Born in Edinburgh to a Scottish mother and Nigerian father, she was adopted as a baby by a white couple. Kay's awareness of her different heritages inspired her first book of poetry, The Adoption Papers, which won the Scottish Arts Council Book of the Year and a commendation from the Forward Poetry Prize judges. Subsequent collections have gone on to win numerous awards, and her first novel, Trumpet, won the Guardian Fiction Prize in 1998. Jackie has also written three collections for children: Three Has Gone and Two's Company, both published by Puffin, and The Frog Who Dreamed She Was an Opera Singer, published by Bloomsbury in 1998 and winner of the Signal Poetry Award. In 2006 Jackie was awarded an MBE. In 2007 she picked up the decibel Writer of the Year prize as part of the British Book Awards. Her plays include Chiarascuro and Twice Through the Heart. She currently lives in Manchester.

The Seed
The Original Birth Certificate
The Waiting Lists
Baby Lazarus
The Tweed Hat Dream
The Telling Part
Black Bottom
The Phone Call
The Meeting Dream
Severe Gale 8
It used to excite me even
My Grandmother's Houses
Summer Storm, Capolona
Pounding Rain
In the Seventh Year
Photo in the Locket
Dance of the Cherry Blossom
He Told Us He Wanted a Black Coffin
Lighthouse Wall
Mummy and Donor and Deirdre
Close Shave
Dressing Up
I try my absolute best
Death to Poll Tax
Whilst Leila Sleeps
The Underground Baby Case