Skip to content


Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 1841957046

ISBN-13: 9781841957043

Edition: 2006

Authors: Margaret Atwood

List price: $15.86
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


With wit and verve, drawing on the storytelling and poetic talent for which she herself is renowned, Atwood gives Penelope, wife of Odysseus and cousin of the beautiful Helen of Troy, new life and reality - and sets out to provide an answer to an ancient mystery.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $15.86
Copyright year: 2006
Publisher: Canongate Books
Publication date: 2/7/2008
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 224
Size: 5.08" wide x 7.80" long x 0.55" tall
Weight: 0.264
Language: English

Born November 18, 1939, in Ottawa, Canada, Margaret Atwood spent her early years in the northern Quebec wilderness. Settling in Toronto in 1946, she continued to spend summers in the northern woods. This experience provided much of the thematic material for her verse. She began her writing career as a poet, short story writer, cartoonist, and reviewer for her high school paper. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962. Atwood's first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie (1970), Power Politics (1971), Cat's Eye (1986), The Robber Bride (1993), Morning in the Buried House (1995), and Alias Grace (1996). Many of her works focus on women's issues. Atwood is also the author of the MaddAdam trilogy which includes Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, MaddAdam. She has won numerous awards for her poetry and fiction including the Prince of Asturias award for Literature, the Booker Prize, the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the very first Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1987.