Skip to content

Unstuck in Time A Journey Through Kurt Vonnegut's Life and Novels

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 1609804309

ISBN-13: 9781609804305

Edition: 2012

Authors: Gregory D. Sumner

List price: $18.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


InUnstuck in Time, Gregory Sumner guides us, with insight and passion, through a biography of fifteen of Kurt Vonnegut's best-known works--his fourteen novels starting withPlayer Piano (1952) all the way to an epilogue on his last book,A Man Without a Country(2005)--to illustrate the quintessential American writer's profound engagement with the "American Dream" in its various forms.Sumner gives us a poignant portrait of Vonnegut and his resistance to celebrating the traditional values associated with the American Dream: grandiose ambition, unbridled material success, rugged individualism, and "winners" over "losers." Instead of a celebration of these values, we read and share Vonnegut's outrage, his brokenhearted empathy for those who struggle under the ethos of survival-of-the-fittest in the frontier mentality--something he once memorably described as "an impossibly tough-minded experiment in loneliness."Heroic and tragic, Vonnegut's novels reflect the pain of his own life's experiences, relieved by small acts of kindness, friendship, and love that exemplify another way of living, another sort of human utopia, an alternative American Dream, and the reason we always return to his books.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $18.95
Copyright year: 2012
Publisher: Seven Stories Press
Publication date: 12/4/2012
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 356
Size: 6.00" wide x 9.00" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.144
Language: English

List of Illustrations
Introduction: Storyteller: Kurt Vonnegut and the American Dream
Prologue: Impossible Dreams: A Writer s Education, 1922-1952
Player Piano
The Sirens of Titan
Mother Night
Cat's Cradle
God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater, or, Pearls Before Swine
Slaughterhouse-Five, or, The Children's Crusade: A Duty-Dance with Death
Breakfast of Champions, or, Goodbye Blue Monday!
Slapstick, or, Lonesome No More!
Deadeye Dick
Galapagos: A Second Noah's Ark
Hocus Pocus
Epilogue: A Man without a Country, a "Planetary Citizen"
Kurt Vonnegut's Novels
About the Author