Slumgullion Stew

ISBN-10: 1578051215

ISBN-13: 9781578051212

Edition: 2nd 2005

Authors: Edward Abbey, Doug Peacock, Doug Peacock

List price: $16.95 Buy it from $8.58
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


In 1984, the late great Edward Abbey compiled this reader, endeavoring, as he says in his preface, "to present what I think is both the best and most representative of my writing--so far." Two decades later, it remains the only major collection of his work chosen by Abbey himself, a rich feast of fiction and prose by the singular American writer whom Larry McMurtry called "the Thoreau of the American West" and whom Alice Hoffman hailed as "the voice of all that is ornery and honorable." Devoted Abbey fans along with readers just discovering his work will find a mother lode of treasures here: generous chunks of his best novels, includingThe Brave Cowboy, BlackSun,and his classicThe Monkey Wrench Gang;and more than a score of his evocative, passionate, trenchant essays--a genre in which he produced acknowledged masterpieces such asDesertSolitaire.There is even an excerpt from a novel he was working on in 1984, eventually published asThe Fool's Progress.Scattered throughout are the author's own petroglyph-style sketches. Abbey went on publishing new work until his untimely death in 1989 at age sixty, so this new edition includes a selection of later Abbey: a chapter fromHayduke Lives!,the hilarious sequel toThe Monkey Wrench Gang;excerpts from his revealing journals; a little-known account of a trip to the Sea of Cortez; and examples of his poetry. A new foreword by Doug Peacock --Abbey's close friend and the model for the flamboyant activist Hayduke--offers a fond appreciation of this largerthan- life figure in American letters.
New Starting from $14.84
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $16.95
Edition: 2nd
Copyright year: 2005
Publisher: Sierra Club Books
Publication date: 7/1/2005
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 458
Size: 5.38" wide x 8.25" long x 1.15" tall
Weight: 1.100
Language: English

Edward Abbey was born January 29, 1927 in Indiana, Pennsylvania, and grew up in nearby Home. After military service in Naples, Italy, from 1945-47, he enrolled in Indiana University of Pennsylvania for a year before traveling to the West. He fell in love with the desert Southwest and eventually attended the University of New Mexico, where he obtained both graduate and post-graduate degrees. Abbey was a Fulbright Fellow from 1951-52. Abbey was an anarchist and a radical environmentalist; these positions are reflected in his writings. His novel Fire on the Mountain won the Western Heritage Award for Best Novel in 1963. Desert Solitaire: A Season in the Wilderness, considered by many to be his best work, is nonfiction that reflects Abbey's love for the American Southwest and draws on his experiences as a park ranger. Among his best-known works are The Brave Cowboy (1956), The Monkey Wrench Gang (1975), and The Fool's Progress (1988). In 1966 The Brave Cowboy was made into a movie titled Lonely Are the Brave, starring Kirk Douglas. Two collections of essays have been published since his death in 1989: Confessions of a Barbarian in 1994 and The Serpents of Paradise the following year. In 1987, Abbey was offered the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award, but he declined. Abbey died in March 1989, near Tucson, Arizona, from complications following surgery. He did not want a traditional burial but rather requested to be buried in the Arizona desert, where he could nourish the earth which had been the subject of so many of his works.

Notes from the Arroyo
The Author's Preface to His Own Book
From Jonathan Troy (1954)
From The Brave Cowboy (1956)
From Fire on the Mountain (1962)
From Desert Solitaire (1968)
The Moon-Eyed Horse
The Dead Man at Grandview Point
Bedrock and Paradox
From Appalachian Wilderness (1970)
From Black Sun (1971)
From The Monkey Wrench Gang (1975)
Seldom Seen at Home
From The Journey Home (1977)
The Great American Desert
Death Valley
Manhattan Twilight, Hoboken Night
Telluride Blues-A Hatchet Job
From Abbey's Road (1979)
Anna Creek
The Outback
A Desert Isle
Sierra Madre
Down There in the Rocks
Science with a Human Face
In Defense of the Redneck
Fire Lookout
The Sorrows of Travel
From Good News (1980)
From Down the River (1982)
Down the River with Henry Thoreau
Watching the Birds: The Windhover
Of Protest
My Friend Debris
From The Rites of Spring (novel in progress)
From Beyond the Wall: Essays from the Outside (1984)
Down to the Sea of Cortez
From The Fool's Progress: An Honest Novel (1989)
To the Mississippi
From Hayduke Lives! (1990)
Bonnie's Return
From Earth Apples: The Poetry of Edward Abbey (1994)
Flash Flood
Down the River
A Sonnet for Everett Ruess
From Confessions of a Barbarian (1994)
Selections from the Journals
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.