Skip to content

Singular Mark Twain A Biography

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 1400095271

ISBN-13: 9781400095278

Edition: 2003

Authors: Fred Kaplan

List price: $18.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


In this magisterial full-scale biography of America’s greatest storyteller and satirist, Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award finalist Fred Kaplan refashions our image of Mark Twain and etches a vibrant portrait of a singular personality who created some of the most memorable literary characters of our culture. He coined the phrase “the Gilded Age,” spoke out vigorously against racism and imperialism, and in his multifaceted singularity as writer, businessman, polemicist, investor, inventor, and self-promoter became the most widely extolled and most dominant icon of American literature. As Kaplan writes, “There has been no one like him since.”
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $18.00
Copyright year: 2003
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 8/9/2005
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 768
Size: 5.25" wide x 8.00" long x 1.50" tall
Weight: 1.540
Language: English

Fred Kaplan teaches at Queens College and the Graduate Center of CUNY. He is the editor of The Essential Gore Vidal and the author of the biographies Henry James, Dickens, and Thomas Carlyle, which was nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award and the Pulitzer Prize. Kaplan lives in Brooklyn, New York.

The Best Boy You Had, 1835-1847
The Fifty-Dollar Bill, 1847-1857
The River, 1857-1861
The Mark Twain Ledge, 1861-1684
A Fair Wind, 1864-1866
Straight Gate, 1866-1867
And Narrow Way, 1867
Home and Anchorage, 1868-1870
Comfort, 1870-1872
The Lion, 1872-1874
God's Fool, 1874-1879
Such Being My Nature, 1879-1882
Infinitely Shaded, 1882-1885
One of the Vanderbilt Gang, 1886-1891
Exile & Desolate, 1891-1895
Disappointment to the End, 1895-1896
Sundays in Hell, 1896-1900
Sweetheart of My Youth, 1900-1904
The Damned Human Race Luncheon Club, 1904-1910