Skip to content

Titan The Life of John D. Rockefeller, Sr

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 1400077303

ISBN-13: 9781400077304

Edition: 2013

Authors: Ron Chernow

List price: $23.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


John D. Rockefeller, Sr.--history's first billionaire and the patriarch of America's most famous dynasty--is an icon whose true nature has eluded three generations of historians. Now Ron Chernow, the National Book Award-winning biographer of the Morgan and Warburg banking families, gives us a history of the mogul "etched with uncommon objectivity and literary grace . . . as detailed, balanced, and psychologically insightful a portrait of the tycoon as we may ever have" (Kirkus Reviews). Titan is the first full-length biography based on unrestricted access to Rockefeller's exceptionally rich trove of papers. A landmark publication full of startling revelations, the book will indelibly alter…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $23.00
Copyright year: 2013
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 3/30/2004
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 832
Size: 6.10" wide x 9.20" long x 1.60" tall
Weight: 2.486
Language: English

Educated at Yale and Cambridge University in England, Ron Chernow is a biographer who specializes in hard-hitting exposes on historical business figures. Among Chernow's early accomplishments was his unmasking of corruption in Chinatown for New York magazine in 1973. In the book The House of Morgan, winner of the National Book Award in 1990, Chernow outlines the extraordinary path of J.P. Morgan's empire and its influence on the American banking industry. Chernow is also the author of Titan: The Life of John D. Rockefeller, which chronicles the life and times of the richest man in the United States in the early 1900s. Chernow is regular guest on the National Public Radio programs Fresh Air…    

Prelude: Poison Tongue
The Flimflam Man
Fires of Revival
Bound to Be Rich
Baptism in Business
The Auction
The Poetry of the Age
Millionaires' Row
The New Monarch
The Holy Family
Insurrection in the Oil Fields
Seat of Empire
The Puppeteer
Widow's Funeral
A Matter of Trust
Captains of Erudition
The Dauphin
The Standard Oil Crowd
The Enthusiast
Avenging Angel
Faith of Fools
The Millionaires' Special
The Codger
The World's Richest Fugitive
Judgment Day
Benevolent Trust
Introvert and Extrovert
Dynastic Succession
Past, Present, Future
See You in Heaven