Skip to content

Texas Politics Today 2015-2016 Edition (with MindTap Political Science Printed Access Card)

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 128585313X

ISBN-13: 9781285853130

Edition: 17th 2016

Authors: William Earl Maxwell, Ernest Crain, Mark Jones, Morhea Lynn Davis, Christopher Wlezein

List price: $239.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
We're sorry. This item is currently unavailable.
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


TEXAS POLITICS TODAY encourages critical thinking and civic participation with ideas, essays, and questions related to Texas politics, presented from different viewpoints. MindTap(tm) for Texas Politics-Cengage Learning's fully online learning solution-is automatically included with the book.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $239.95
Edition: 17th
Copyright year: 2016
Publisher: Cengage Learning
Publication date: 1/1/2015
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 416
Size: 8.00" wide x 9.75" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 1.496
Language: English

William Earl Maxwell is a professor emeritus at San Antonio College, where he has taught courses in U.S. and Texas government since 1971. Throughout his career Maxwell has focused on innovative teaching techniques and improving the teaching and learning environments for students. As part of that effort, in 1975 Maxwell co-authored UNDERSTANDING TEXAS POLITICS, his first text on Texas government. He also co-authored such texts as POLITICS IN TEXAS and THE CHALLENGE OF TEXAS POLITICS: TEXT WITH READINGS. He completed his undergraduate and graduate work at Sam Houston State University.

A thirty-five year veteran instructor of political science, Ernest Crain specializes in political party competition, comparative state politics, and Texas public policy. Crain co-authored UNDERSTANDING TEXAS POLITICS, POLITICS IN TEXAS, THE CHALLENGE OF TEXAS POLITICS, and four editions of INTRODUCTION TO TEXAS POLITICS. Crain received his B.A. and M.A. degrees from the University of Texas in Austin.

M. Lynn Davis is a full professor of Government at El Paso Community College. Her specialties include political theory, communication, and process. She has written articles on political discourse and the primary/caucus debate and has edited several textbooks. She currently serves as Government Faculty Coordinator and teaches and mentors other faculty in Blackboard Software. Born and raised in El Paso, Texas, Davis earned her Bachelor's and Master's Degrees from the University of Texas at El Paso.

Christopher Wlezien is Hogg Professor of Government at the University of Texas at Austin. Previously a professor of political science at Temple University, Dr. Wlezien has published in several political science journals, has edited THE FUTURE OF ELECTIONS STUDIES and BRITAIN VOTES, and was founding co-editor of the Journal of Elections, Public Opinion, and Parties. His research interests include developing a "thermostatic" model of public opinion and policy and examining the interrelationships between preferences for spending and budgetary policy in various domains, and the evolution of voter preferences over the election cycle. A past president of the SWPSA, Dr. Wlezien received his Ph.D.…