ISBN-10: 0853602115

ISBN-13: 9780853602118

Edition: N/A

List price: $9.99 Buy it from $2.32
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


Used Starting from $7.90
New Starting from $10.24
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Ethics Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Law Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Management Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $9.99
Publisher: Novello & Company, Limited
Publication date: 12/1/2003
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 258
Size: 8.00" wide x 11.00" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 1.232
Language: English

George Frideric Handel was born in Halle, Germany on February 23, 1685. As a youth, he became an accomplished harpsichordist and organist, studied violin and oboe, and mastered composing for the organ, the oboe, and the violin by the time he was 10 years old. In 1704, he made his debut as an opera composer with Almira. During his stay in Italy from 1706 to 1710, he composed several operas including Rodrigo and Agrippina and several dramatic chamber works, which helped establish his early success. In London, Handel composed Rinaldo, which was released during the 1710-1711 London opera season and became his breakthrough work. After Handel released Rinaldo, he spent the next few years writing and performing for English royalty, including Queen Anne and King George I. In 1719, he accepted the position of Master of the Orchestra at the Royal Academy of Music, the first Italian opera company in London. He became a naturalized British citizen in 1726. He eventually formed his own company, calling it the New Royal Academy of Music in 1727. When Italian opera fell out of style in London, he started creating oratorios Handel's musical output was prodigious. He wrote 46 operas including Julius Caesar and Berenice; 33 oratorios including The Messiah; 100 Italian solo cantatas; and numerous orchestral works. In 1751 Handel suffered a sight impairment that led to total blindness by 1753. Nonetheless, he continued to conduct performances of his works. He died April 14, 1759 at the age of 74.

Sinfonia (Overture)
Comfort ye my people
Ev'ry valley shall be exalted
And the glory of the Lord
Thus saith the Lord
But who may abide the day of his coming? (Version I)
But who may abide the day of his coming (Version II)
And he shall purify
Behold, a virgin shall conceive
O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion
For behold, darkness shall cover the earth
The people that walked in darkness
For unto us a child is born
Pifa ('Pastoral Symphony')
There were shepherds abiding in the field
And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them
And the angel said unto them
And suddenly there was with the angel
Glory to God
Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Version I)
Then shall the eyes of the blind
He shall feed his flock (Version I)
He shall feed his flock (Version II)
His yoke is easy, and his burthen is light
Behold the Lamb of God
He was despised
Surely he hath borne our griefs
And with his stripes we are healed
All we like sheep have gone astray
All they that see him laugh him to scorn
He trusted in God
Thy rebuke hath broken his heart
Behold, and see if there be any sorrow
He was cut off out of the land of the living
But thou didst not leave his soul in hell
Lift up your heads, O ye gates
Unto which of the angels said he at any time
Let all the angels of God worship him
Thou art gone up on high (Version I)
Thou art gone upon high (Version II)
The Lord gave the word
How beautiful are the feet (Version I)
Their sound is gone out (Version I)
Why do the nations so furiously rage together? (Version I, Air; Version II, Air and Recit.)
Let us break their bonds asunder
He that dwelleth in heaven
Thou shalt break them
I know that my redeemer liveth
Since by man came death
Behold, I tell you a mystery
The trumpet shall sound
Then shall be bought to pass
O death, where is thy sting?
But thanks be to God
If God be for us (Version I)
If God be for us (Version II)
Worthy is the lamb that was slain
Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Version II)
Thou art gone up on high (Version III)
How beautiful are the feet (Version II)
How beautiful are the feet ... Break forth into joy
Their sound is gone out (Version II)
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.