Skip to content

Team That Forever Changed Baseball and America The 1947 Brooklyn Dodgers

Best in textbook rentals since 2012!

ISBN-10: 0803239920

ISBN-13: 9780803239920

Edition: 2012

Authors: Lyle Spatz, Mark Langill, Maurice Bouchard, Leonard Levin, Society for American Baseball Research (SABR)

List price: $39.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Of all the teams in the annals of baseball, only a select few can lay claim to historic significance. One of those teams is the 1947 Brooklyn Dodgers, the first racially integrated Major League team of the twentieth century. The addition of Jackie Robinson to its roster changed not only baseball but also the nation. Yet Robinson was just one member of that memorable club, which included Carl Furillo, Gil Hodges, Pee Wee Reese, Pete Reiser, Duke Snider, Eddie Stanky, Arky Vaughan, and Dixie Walker. Also present was a quartet of baseball’s most unforgettable characters: co-owners Branch Rickey and Walter O’Malley, suspended manager Leo Durocher, and radio announcer Red Barber.This book is the…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $39.95
Copyright year: 2012
Publisher: University of Nebraska Press
Publication date: 4/1/2012
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 400
Size: 7.99" wide x 10.00" long x 0.59" tall
Weight: 1.716
Language: English

How the 1947 Team Was Built
Spring Training in Havana
Jackie Robinson
Branch Rickey
Leo Durocher
Kirby Higbe
Bobby Bragan
Dixie Walker
Carl Furillo
The Suspension of Leo Durocher
Branch Rickey and the Mainstream Press
Timeline, April 15-April 30
Ebbets Field, 1947
Jackie Robinson's First Game
Clyde Sukeforth
Burt Shotton
Ray Blades
Spider Jorgensen
Hal Gregg
Timeline, May I-May 20
Hank Behrman
Rube Melton
Jackie Robinson and the Jews
Timeline, May 21-June 15
Gene Hermanski
Hugh Casey
Rex Barney
Tommy Brown
Harry Taylor
Timeline, June 16-June 29
Ed Chandler
Marv Rackley
Gil Hodges
George Dockins
Eddie Stanky
Timeline, June 30-July 14
Arky Vaughan
Duke Snider
Ralph Branca
Clyde King
Jake Pitler
Brooklyn Dodgers in the 1947 All-Star Game
Timeline, July 15-July 31
Pee Wee Reese
Bruce Edwards
The Protested Game of July 20, 1947
Joe Hatten
Timeline, August i-August 17
Howie Schultz
Pete Reiser
Tommy Tatum
Timeline, August 18-August 31
Eddie Miksis
Stan Rojek
Dan Bankhead
Timeline, September I-September 19
Phih Haugstad
Don Lund
Vic Lombardi
Jack Banta
Johnny Van Cuyk
Timeline, September 20-September 28
Willie Ramsdell
Dick Whitman
Erv Palica
Ed Stevens
Walter O'Malley
John L. Smith
Red Barber
Connie Desmond
Advertising and the Dodgers in 1947
The 1947 World Series
Al Gionfriddo
Cookie Lavagetto
Al Gionfriddo's Memorable Game Six Catch
Lavagetto Ends Bevens's No-Hit Attempt
Most Valuable Player Award
Rookie of the Year Award
Cy Young Award
Dodgers Attendance in 1947
Ownership Issues in Brooklyn
Notes and References