Chicago Architecture 1885 to Today

ISBN-10: 0789315335

ISBN-13: 9780789315335

Edition: 2008

Authors: Edward Keegan, Lynn J. Osmond, Chicago Architecture Foundation Staff

List price: $29.95
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


Universally recognized as an architectural center, Chicago contains some of the world's finest buildings by the most renowned architects of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Frank Lloyd Wright, Louis Sullivan, Mies van der Rohe, and many more left their stamp on the city's skyline and, as a result, influenced the practice of architecture across the globe. This book, published in association with the Chicago Architecture Foundation, features an in-depth analysis of forty-two seminal works of Chicago architecture. This accessible and engaging volume is the latest addition to the successful Universe Architecture Series. Both a guide for those visiting the city and a valuable reference for architecture enthusiasts, Chicago Architecture includes residential icons such as Mies van der Rohe's 860-880 Lake Shore Drive, skyscraper prototypes such as Sullivan's Schlesinger and Mayer Store (Carson Pirie Scott & Co.), and engineering masterpieces such as Skidmore, Owings & Merrill's Sears Tower.
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Terminology Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Math Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $29.95
Copyright year: 2008
Publisher: Universe Publishing
Publication date: 5/27/2008
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 224
Size: 6.50" wide x 8.50" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 1.430

Glessner House: Henry Hobson Richardson, 1885-87
Auditorium Building: Adler & Sullivan, 1887-89
The Rookery: Burnham & Root, 1888
Second Leiter Building: William Le Baron Jenney, 1889-91
The Monadnock: Burnham & Root, 1891
Marquette Building: Holabird & Roche, 1893-95
Reliance Building: Burnham & Root, 1891-95
Chicago Cultural Center: Shepley Rutan & Coolidge, 1891-97
Carson Pirie Scott & Co.: originally Schlesinger & Mayer: Louis H. Sullivan, 1899, 1902-03
Macy's State Street: originally Marshall Field & Co.: D. H. Burnham & Co., 1902, 1907
Robie House: Frank Lloyd Wright, 1909
Wrigley Building: Graham Anderson Probst & White, 1919-24
Tribune Tower: Howells & Hood, 1923-25
Carl Street Studios: also known as 151 West Burton: Sol Kogen, Edgar Miller, and others, 1927
Chicago Board of Trade: Holabird & Root, 1930
Merchandise Mart: Graham Anderson Probst & White, 1927-31
University Building: Keck & Keck, 1937
Myron Bachman House: Bruce Golf, 1948
860-880 North Lake Shore Drive: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, 1949-51
Crown Hall: Mies van der Rohe, 1956
30 West Monroe: originally Inland Steel Building: Skidmore Owings & Merrill, 1958
Marina City: Bertrand Goldberg Associates, 1962-64
Richard J. Daley Center: originally Chicago Civic Center: Chicago Civic Center Architects (C. F. Murphy & Associates, with Skidmore Owings & Merrill and Loebl Schlossman & Bennett), 1965
John Hancock Center: Skidmore Owings & Merrill, 1965-69
McCormick Place: C. F. Murphy & Associates, 1967-71
Federal Center: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, 1959-74
Sears Tower: Skidmore Owings & Merrill, 1968-74
Metropolitan Correctional Facility: Harry Weese & Associates, 1975
Steel & Glass House: Krueck & Olsen, 1981
333 Wacker Drive: Kohn Pedersen Fox, 1979-83
James R. Thompson Center: originally State of Illinois Building: Murphy/Jahn, 1979-85
Harold Washington Library Center: Hammond Beeby Babka, 1991
Little Village Academy: Ross Barney+Jankowski, 1996
Private Residence: Tadao Ando, 1992-98
Republic Windows & Doors: Booth Hansen Associates, 1998
Archer Courts: Landon Bone, 2000
Soldier Field: Holabird & Root, 1922-26 Wood+Zapata, with Lohan Caprile Goettsch, 2000-03 renovation
McCormick Tribune Campus Center: OMA/Rem Koolhaas, 2003
Jay Pritzker Pavilion: Frank O. Gehry & Associates, 2004
Contemporaine: Perkins+Will, 2004
Hyatt Center: Pei Cobb Freed & Partners, 2005
Gary Comer Youth Center: John Ronan Architect, 2006
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.