Skip to content

Heart of the Buddha's Teaching Transforming Suffering into Peace, Joy, and Liberation

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0767903692

ISBN-13: 9780767903691

Edition: 1999 (Reprint)

Authors: Thich Nhat Hanh

List price: $16.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


In The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching, Thich Nhat Hanh introduces us to the core teachings of Buddhism and shows us that the Buddha's teachings are accessible and applicable to our daily lives. With poetry and clarity, Nhat Hanh imparts comforting wisdom about the nature of suffering and its role in creating compassion, love, and joy--all qualities of enlightenment. Covering such significant teachings as the Four Noble Truths, the Noble Eightfold Path, the Three Doors of Liberation, the Three Dharma Seals, and the Seven Factors of Awakening, The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching is a radiant beacon on Buddhist thought for the initiated and uninitiated alike.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $16.00
Copyright year: 1999
Publisher: Potter/Ten Speed/Harmony/Rodale
Publication date: 6/8/1999
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 304
Size: 5.25" wide x 8.00" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 0.792
Language: English

Thich Nhat Hanh is a Vietnamese Buddhist monk. Martin Luther King, Jr. nominated him for the Nobel Peace Prize in 1967 for his efforts to reconcile North and South Vietnam during the Vietnam War. Hanh was part of a movement called "engaged Buddhism", which combines traditional practices with nonviolent civil disobedience, and he was exiled by both the Communist and non-Communist governments. He is a respected writer and scholar, and founded a retreat in France called Plum Village. Hanh has written several books, including The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching: An Introduction to Buddhism, Peace Is Every Step, and Living Buddha, Living Christ.

The Four Noble Truths
Entering the Heart of the Buddha
The First Dharma Talk
The Four Noble Truths
Understanding the Buddha's Teachings
Is Everything Suffering?
Stopping, Calming, Resting, Healing
Touching Our Suffering
Realizing Well-Being
The Noble Eightfold Path
Right View
Right Thinking
Right Mindfulness
Right Speech
Right Action
Right Diligence
Right Concentration
Right Livelihood
Other Basic Buddhist Teachings
The Two Truths
The Three Dharma Seals
The Three Doors of Liberation
The Three Bodies of Buddha
The Three Jewels
The Four Immeasurable Minds
The Five Aggregates
The Five Powers
The Six Paramitas
The Seven Factors of Awakening
The Twelve Links of Interdependent Co-Arising
Touching the Buddha Within
Turning the Wheel of the Dharma (Dhamma Cakka Pavattana Sutta)
The Great Forty (Mahacattarisaka Sutta)
Right View (Sammaditthi Sutta)