Skip to content

Story of England

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0714826529

ISBN-13: 9780714826523

Edition: 1992 (Revised)

Authors: Christopher Hibbert

List price: $19.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


This general introduction to popular history attempts to relate the events ofach period of English history to the heritage that can still be seen andppreciated. Designed to make fact-finding easy, the volume is supported byumerous tables, maps and illustrations.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $19.95
Copyright year: 1992
Publisher: Phaidon Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 1/1/1994
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 224
Size: 5.51" wide x 8.27" long x 0.67" tall
Weight: 0.946
Language: English

Christopher Hibbert: March 5, 1924 -- December 21, 2008 Historian Christopher Hibbert was born as Arthur Raymond Hibbert in Enderby, England in 1924. He dropped out of Oriel College to join the Army. He served with the London Irish Rifles and won the Military Cross. He earned a degree in history in 1948. Before becoming a full-time nonfiction writer, he worked as a real estate agent and a television critic for Truth magazine. He wrote more than 60 books throughout his lifetime including The Road to Tyburn (1957), Il Duce: The Life of Benito Mussolini(1962), George IV: Prince of Wales, 1762-1811 (1972), and George IV: Regent and King, 1812-1830 (1973). Hibbert was awarded the Heinemann Award…    

Author's Note
The British Melting Pot: From Neolithic times (5000-2500 BC) to the defeat of the Anglo-Saxons (1066)
Natives and Immigrants 5000 BC to 55 BC
Roman Britain 55 BC to 450
Anglo-Saxons 450 to 1066
The Shaping of the Nation: From the Norman Conquest (1066) to the Peasants' Revolt (1381)
Norman Rule 1066-1154
The House of Plantagenet 1154-1215
Crown and People 1215-1381
The Struggle for Power: From the suppression of the Peasants' Revolt (1381) to the Restoration (1660)
Twilight of the Middle Ages 1381-1485
Tudor England 1485-1603
Early Stuart England 1603-1660
The Rise and Fall of Empire: From the Restoration of the Monarchy (1660) to the England of today
Empire and Industry 1660-1834
The Age of Reform 1830s-1900
The Twentieth Century 1901-1990
The West Country
Southern and Eastern England
Northern England
Central London
Civil War Locations
Cathedral and Country Houses
Anglo-Saxon Kings
Normans and Plantagenets 1066-1485
The House of Tudor 1485-1603
Stuarts and Hanoverians 1603-1837
Descendants of Queen Victoria 1837-
Chronological Charts
Prime Ministers
Bibliographical Note