Skip to content

Blithedale Romance

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0674050215

ISBN-13: 9780674050211

Edition: 1964

Authors: Nathaniel Hawthorne, Robert S. Levine

Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Customers also bought

Book details

Copyright year: 1964
Publisher: Harvard University Press
Publication date: 4/1/2010
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 260
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.10" long x 0.80" tall
Weight: 0.594
Language: English

Nathaniel Hawthorne was born on July 4, 1804 in Salem, Mass. When Hawthorne was four years old, his father died. Years later, with financial help from his maternal relatives who recognized his literary talent, Hawthorne was able to enroll in Bowdoin College. Among his classmates were the important literary and political figures Horatio Bridge, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and Franklin Pierce. These friends supplied Hawthorne with employment during the early years after graduation while Hawthorne was still establishing himself as a legitimate author. Hawthorne's first novel, Fanshawe, which he self-published in 1928, wasn't quite the success that he had hoped it would be. Not willing to give…    

Robert S. Levine is professor of English and Distinguished Scholar-Teacher at the University of Maryland, College Park. His most recent book is Dislocating Race and Nation: Episodes in Nineteenth-Century American Literary Nationalism.

Note on the Text
Chronology of Nathaniel Hawthorne's Life
The Blithedale Romance
Old Moodie
A Knot of Dreamers
The Supper-Table
Until Bedtime
Coverdale's Sick-Chamber
The Convalescent
A Modern Arcadia
Hollingsworth, Zenobia, Priscilla
A Visitor from Town
The Wood-Path
Coverdale's Hermitage
Zenobia's Legend
Eliot's Pulpit
A Crisis
The Hotel
The Boarding-House
Zenobia's Drawing-Room
They Vanish
An Old Acquaintance
A Village-Hall
The Masqueraders
The Three Together
Zenobia and Coverdale
Miles Coverdale's Confession
Selected Bibliography