Skip to content

Speaking of Faith

ISBN-10: 0670038350

ISBN-13: 9780670038350

Edition: 2007

Authors: Krista Tippett

List price: $23.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Description:

The host of public radios Speaking of Faithexplores the role of faith in the world and in human life today Krista Tippett is the creator and host of public radios phenomenally popular program Speaking of Faith, a weekly conversation about religion, meaning, ethics, and ideas. As a journalist and then as a diplomat in Berlin, Tippett was enthralled by the promise of political solutions to divisive issues. When politics did not provide worthy answers, Tippett attended Yale Divinity School to pursue larger questions about what makes a meaningful life. In her quest for faiths illumination of lifes complexities, passions, and frailties, she developed a compelling style of discoursea life of conversationthat she now shares with millions of people every week. Tippetts unique, in-depth conversations with theologians, scientists, ethicists, and seekers who share their experiences, combined with her engaging style, are revolutionizing the way many think and speak of faith in their families and communities and in the larger world. Speaking of Faithis the story of this conversational journey and what it yields. Tippett draws on her life experiences and her studies, as well as on conversations with Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, Thich Nhat Hanh, and other renowned figures, to explore such complex subjects as justice, science, fundamentalism, evil, love, and mystery, all within the context of spirituality. In the tradition of Kathleen Norris and Anne Lamott, Krista Tippett here shares a life of conversation that anyone, secular or religious, will find thought provoking about what faith does and canmean to us today. BACKCOVER: Praise for Krista Tippett and her public radio program Speaking of Faith: The brilliance of Krista Tippetts idea is to trust people to use the first person singular, to commit themselves with passion and clarity as they enlarge our urgent national conversation. Martin Marty, Emeritus Professor of American Religious History, University of Chicago Speaking of Faith isnt just a good idea and a welcome concept for a muchneeded forum on religion, belief and spirituality in contemporary lifeit already is that forum. Patricia Hampl, Poet, memoirist, and MacArthur Genius Grant recipient
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $23.95
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 3/1/2007
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 256
Size: 6.00" wide x 8.75" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.924
Language: English

Krista Tippett is a broadcaster, journalist, and author. Krista graduated from Brown University in 1983. She's also a Fulbright scholar. Tippett has worked for the New York Times and written for Newsweek, the BBC and others. In 1986, she acted as a special political assistant to the senior diplomat in West Berlin. The following year she became chief aide in Berlin to the U.S. ambassador to West Germany. Tippett received a Masters of Divinity from Yale University in 1994. She went on to create and host the public radio program Speaking of Faith. The program is currently broadcast on more than 200 public radio stations in the US and globally via NPR Worldwide, its website, and its podcast. Krista's first book, Speaking of Faith - Why Religion Matters and How to Talk about It, was published in 2007; her most recent book is Einstein's God: Conversations about Science and the Human Spirit (Feb 2010).

Genesis : how we got here
Remembering forward
Rethinking religious truth
Speaking of faith
Exposing virtue
Confessing mystery