Skip to content

Boys in the Boat The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 067002581X

ISBN-13: 9780670025817

Edition: N/A

Authors: Daniel James Brown

List price: $28.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Description:

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand'sSeabiscuitandUnbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin OlympicsDaniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $28.95
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 6/4/2013
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 416
Size: 6.28" wide x 9.26" long x 1.27" tall
Weight: 1.650
Language: English

Daniel James Brown is the author of The Indifferent Stars Above: The Harrowing Saga of a Donner Party Bride, Under a Flaming Sky: The Great Hinckley Firestorm of 1894, and The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University.