Skip to content

Anticancer A New Way of Life

ISBN-10: 0670020346

ISBN-13: 9780670020348

Edition: 2008

Authors: David Servan-Schreiber, PhD Servan-Schreiber

List price: $25.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Description:

A radical synthesis of science and personal experience that advocates a sea change in the way we understand and confront cancer When David Servan- Schreiber, a dedicated scientist and doctor, was diagnosed with brain cancer, it changed his life. Confronting what medicine knows about the illness, the little known workings of the bodys natural cancer-fighting capacities, and his own will to live, Servan-Schreiber found himself on a fifteen-year journey from disease and relapse into scientific exploration, and finally to health. Combining memoir with a clear explanation of what makes cancer cells thrive and what inhibits them, and describing both conventional and alternative ways to slow and prevent cancer, Anticanceris revolutionary in its clarity. It is a moving story of a doctors inner and outer search for healing; radical in its discussion of the environment, lifestyle, and trauma; and inspiring and cautionary in its certainty that cancer cells lie dormant in all of usand we all must care for the terrain in which they exist. Anticancertakes us on a serious journey and, ultimately, an empowering one. In the tradition of Michael Pollan, John Kabat- Zinn, Barbara Kingsolver, and Andrew Weil, Anticancergenuinely guides us to a new way of life.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $25.95
Copyright year: 2008
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 9/4/2008
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 304
Size: 6.75" wide x 9.25" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.386
Language: English

One Story
Escaping Statistics
Danger and Opportunity
Cancer's Weaknesses
Breaking the News
The Anticancer Environment
Lessons of a Relapse
The Anticancer Foods
The Anticancer Mind
Defusing Fear
The Anticancer Body
Learning to Change
Conclusion
Ten Precautions for Cell Phone Use
Acknowledgments
Notes
Index