Skip to content

Music of Louis Andriessen

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 0521864232

ISBN-13: 9780521864237

Edition: 2006

Authors: Yayoi Uno Everett, Arnold Whittall

List price: $79.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


For much of his career, the internationally known, and still active Dutch composer Louis Andriessen has been understood as an iconoclast who challenged and resisted the musical establishment. This book explores his compositions as a case study for exploring the social and aesthetic implications of new music. Everett chronicles the evolution of Andriessen's music over the course of five decades: the formative years in which he experimented with serialism and collage techniques; his political activism in the late 1960s; 'concept' works from the 1970s that provide musical commentary on philosophical writings by Plato, St Augustine and others; theatrical and operatic collaborations with Robert…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $79.99
Copyright year: 2006
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 1/4/2007
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 284
Size: 6.69" wide x 9.61" long x 0.67" tall
Weight: 1.606
Language: English

Dutch music in the twentieth century
Formative years
Politics and "concept" works
Toward the metaphysical in art (1981-88)
Operatic collaboration with Peter Greenaway
Contemplative works